Bus drama

3 Oct

images

I looked at the other teacher sitting with me on the bus, my eyes sending her a telepathic message,  Did she just say that?

It was our annual  bus evacuation drill and we were on the bus with a driver who had just told our 6th graders that if they didn’t listen and follow the rules they would die.

The driver certainly had our attention.

She had presence, a well-projected voice and a flair for the dramatic.

I learned about the double hull construction of a school bus . Who knew?

I learned that a bus will fill with smoke in two minutes.

And I learned that this driver would drag the “lifeless body” of a child who choked on a piece of gum off the bus and begin first aid as soon as she could.

As we exited the bus, reeling a little, one of my students simply said, “She talked a lot about dying.”

Definitely the most dramatic bus evacuation drill I have ever experienced.

 

8 Responses to “Bus drama”

  1. vanessaw2007 October 3, 2017 at 6:21 am #

    Thank you for my morning giggle. Love, loved this slice.. classic.

  2. Maureen October 3, 2017 at 1:47 pm #

    She got everyone’s attention!

  3. arjeha October 3, 2017 at 2:32 pm #

    That’s one way to get someone’s attention. Our bus fire drills consisted of opening the emergency door and jumping out.

    • Adrienne October 3, 2017 at 2:40 pm #

      That’s what I was expecting (and dreading).

  4. sallydonnelly11 October 3, 2017 at 2:55 pm #

    I liked your crafted dialogue ending the best!

  5. Katie October 3, 2017 at 9:40 pm #

    This was so fun to read. Thank you. 💓

  6. Martha October 4, 2017 at 1:54 pm #

    Wow.. Well isn’t that one way to look at it! Haha

  7. Brian Rozinsky October 5, 2017 at 5:05 am #

    Teacher telepathy + near-black humor = very effective slice!

Comments are closed.