Hi, Mrs. Seed! SOLSC 8

8 Mar

“Hi, Mrs. Seed!” said the cherubic first-grader, waving his hand at me.

I smiled back, said hello and added, “I’m not Mrs. Seed. I’m Miss Gillespie.”

This conversation happens about once a week. There are several middle-aged women in my building with similar builds: short stature, round body, dark hair, glasses.

Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 6.30.54 PM   Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 6.47.04 PM  Screen Shot 2014-03-06 at 6.44.50 PM

Sometimes it’s hard for the kids tell us apart. They get it eventually, but as with many things in education, it just takes time and frequent repetition.

Characters created with BITSTRIPS

11 Responses to “Hi, Mrs. Seed! SOLSC 8”

  1. Lisa Keeler March 8, 2014 at 6:30 am #

    I love this. Your slice gets right to the point and I love the connection you make to teaching and learning.

  2. Deb Day (@mrsday75) March 8, 2014 at 6:38 am #

    This just made me chuckle. I want you to know that even in high school, I get called the wrong name, but not because we all look alike. It’s mostly distraction that causes it when it happens….

  3. Kay McGriff (@kaymcgriff) March 8, 2014 at 6:39 am #

    I teach in a middle school, and still get called the wrong name. Sometimes it’s because they student has just come from the other class. There are a few of us, though, who do look similar. Then I get asked if we are sisters. We always answer YES!

  4. Kathy Douglas March 8, 2014 at 6:45 am #

    Love the pictures! Reminds me of a time when I was teaching and two little first graders watched me pass by. And then one said, Yes, that’s the girl giant. I’m only 5’9″ but to them…a giant!

  5. skinnyuz2b March 8, 2014 at 6:46 am #

    It’s true, adults look pretty much the same to young children. I’m a substitute teacher and often sub at our local school. There is a teacher who has the same long wavy hair as me, is the same height, and about the same build. I’ve been told by grade school students that Mrs. B and I are twins, more than once or twice. The problem? I’ve always thought of her as kind of homely (sorry, Mrs. B). On the other hand, she’s at least ten years younger.

  6. LauraM. March 8, 2014 at 7:17 am #

    I love this! It’s so funny. I once had a language student who just couldn’t quite master the difference between “Mr.” and “Mrs.” As a result, she entered my office one day, saw my husband, and, wanting to talk to me, asked where, “Mr. M” was… =)

  7. Betsy Hubbard March 8, 2014 at 5:44 pm #

    Funny slice. Maybe in a few years they will see you instead of a “one out of three” gamble. The bitstrips are funny because I think everyone’s bitstrip looks the same!

  8. joann hulquist March 8, 2014 at 7:28 pm #

    Made me smile as I believe I was in the hall that time!!!

    Sent from my iPhone

    • Adrienne March 9, 2014 at 7:25 am #

      Yes, you were. Did you see the comment below from Kathy, who, at 5’9″ got called a giant? That made me laugh.

  9. Cat March 14, 2014 at 9:51 am #

    Just who are you referring to Adrianne. Who is the third mystery woman? Let me think????? Our kids at WW always make me smile, chuckle and keep a spring in my step while I wait for the unexpected!

    • Adrienne March 14, 2014 at 11:37 am #

      I tried to differentiate the 3 of us by hair. The 3rd woman is, however, a huge mystery.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

