Trilliums SOLSC 16

16 Mar

images

I believe I saw a trillium today. I’m not 100% sure. There was a small flash of white on the right side of the road, in an area where trilliums come up every Spring. I was going 50 mph but I took the time to turn my head and look. Safely, of course. And I’m pretty sure the first trillium is truly there.

Growing up, the trillium was the flower of Ontario, the Canadian province where I lived. We were told that picking one was illegal, but I never saw one in the wild, so was never tempted.

In my previous house in Portland, trilliums grew on the shady side of my house. I didn’t know that when I bought the house, but felt it was a sign I was meant to live there. The beliefs of my youth kept me from picking them, but sometimes I’d walk over there, just to admire them. I was content to know they were there.

So now, I spend my Springs, zooming down the Sunset Highway from Beaverton to Portland. looking for trilliums, harbingers of Spring.

6 Responses to “Trilliums SOLSC 16”

  1. arjeha March 16, 2014 at 7:25 am #

    Great post. Spring is on its way. My evidence is the sprouting daffodils around our porch and the pussy willow just about to burst.

  2. adriennewiley March 16, 2014 at 1:30 pm #

    Such an elegant reflection on Spring. I was thinking yesterday about the beautiful and fascinating names our spring flowers have as I walked by some forsythia. Spring is Coming!

  3. lromainebrown March 16, 2014 at 6:37 pm #

    From Beaverton to Portland watching for trilliums. I like your admission, “I believe I saw a trillium today…” Who knows what the flash of white on the side of the highway was? Nice that in your mind it was one of those lovely, rare blossoms.

  4. readerlee March 17, 2014 at 3:31 am #

    I’ve never heard of a trillium. It’s beautiful and fun to say. And it inspired this lovely story, so you must have seen it.

  5. shaggerspicchu March 17, 2014 at 7:04 am #

    I grew up in Pickering Ontario and we backed onto a ravine that was filled with trilliums each and every year. My grandmother used to encourage us to go and pick them, as she told us stories of her childhood bouquets of freshly picked trilliums. We would always tell her that you weren’t allowed to pick trilliums and without missing a beat she would respond “Oh, nobody would miss a trillium or two!”

    They are beautiful flowers.

    • Adrienne March 17, 2014 at 7:32 am #

      I grew up mostly in a small town near Kitchener-Waterloo, though I spent a few years up near James Bay from grades 2 to 4.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

