A trio of trilogies : Part 2

22 May

If you haven’t had enough YA dystopian fiction, you are in luck.

Today’s trilogy is the  Legend series by Marie Lu.

Unknown

 

Marie Lu began her career as a game designer and you can feel that active pace in these novels.   The series is set in  a futuristic America, which is split into two parts, Republic and Colonies,  following catastrophic flooding. 

Legend  takes place in a flooded Los Angeles, where the privileged and poor live very different lives and plague is a threat.  The story is alternately narrated in two voices. Fifteen-year-old Day, is a famous criminal, and  June  is the prodigious soldier hired to capture him. When they meet, they discover that they have a common enemy.

In Prodigy,  June and Day make their way to Las Vegas where they join the rebel Patriot group and become involved in an assassination plot against the Elector in hopes of saving the Republic. 

Finally, in Champion, a peace treaty is imminent, but a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic. You can probably surmise that June and Day solve these problems. 

I listened to all three of these on CDs in the car. The stories were good and moved along nicely, as long as you are willing to believe that 15 year olds can have this much power. The thing that drove me crazy was a particular grammatical construction that I hate. I’ve been noticing it a lot lately in the news, in writing and I can’t help but think that it is WRONG.

Lu would write comparisons and insert the word “of” in places that I don’t think they belong. Here are two examples:

“I’m ready,” I say with as genuine of a smile as I can muster.

as short of a summary

I think she should have written these as

“I’m ready,” I say with as genuine  a smile as I can muster.

as short a summary

Maybe it is being overly picky, but it really irritated me. I think I really took note of it because I listened to the series, rather than read it. I’d be curious to hear your thoughts on this grammar question.

In spite of that, the books were pretty good. The pace was pretty quick and the audiobook narrators were excellent.

 

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

