100 Things – A Slice of Life Story

25 Nov

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Inspired by  the example of many other Slicers, I decided to see what my 4th graders would do with the 100 Things I’m Thankful for Challenge. I worried there might be groans.Instead, I got kids asking, could they take it  for homework and asking if they could go past 100! I keep saying these stream-of-consciousness impulsive puppies are kind hearted. I worked on my list while they worked on theirs. I walked around a bit to monitor and saw some wonderful things on their papers. rather than listing my 100, I’m going to give a sample of some of the things they came up. I chose on thing from each student’s list.

  • butterflies
  • Girl Scouts
  • hot cocoa
  • Kool Aid
  • smelly markers
  • stuffed animals
  • dictionary
  • brain
  • constellations
  • legos
  • polar bear ear muffs
  • gravy
  • fuzzy pajamas
  • Christmas movies
  • Abraham Lincoln
  • tie-dye shirts
  • electric cars
  • noodles
  • soccer
  • meeting Ken Jennings
  • Roberto Clemente
  • US Navy
  • Minecraft
5 Responses to “100 Things – A Slice of Life Story”

  1. The Styling Librarian November 25, 2014 at 8:11 am #

    Love this… 🙂

  2. Raivenne November 25, 2014 at 9:15 am #

    Oh my stars! This list is wonderful. I mean how can one NOT be grateful for fuzzy PJs. I’m 51 and that’s still pretty high up on my list. First much-needed smile on my face today.
    Thank you!

  3. Betsy Hubbard November 25, 2014 at 2:22 pm #

    Perfect. I love noodles too!

  4. arjeha November 26, 2014 at 6:02 pm #

    Hot cocoa and Christmas movies___that’s a pairing I can go for.

  5. Sarah November 29, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

    I love their list! I wish I had done that with my 4th graders. Although just because Thanksgiving is over, doesn’t mean we can’t still do it! Their list made me smile. My favorites were Abraham Lincoln, polar bear ear muffs and the U.S Navy.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

