Mammogram Day #SOL15

5 Mar

Unknown

If it weren’t so serious, it would be ridiculous. Me, semi-topless and a complete stranger manhandling certain private parts of my upper body onto the mammogram machine. And all the while, you and the mammography technician are chatting away as though you are in a cafe on a sunny day.

As it turns out, my technician and I share a birthday! What a coincidence, as she wrangles the right side.

She has children who look as unlike as my twin sister and I do, as she adjusts the left side.

One of her daughters had ADHD, as she rejiggers my position on the right.

She is from short German peasant stock, as she fashions my glamor pose on the left.

And then it is over.

Until next time.

9 Responses to “Mammogram Day #SOL15”

  1. writekimwrite March 5, 2015 at 5:54 am #

    It is just like that! You expressed it exactly, a uncomfortable procedure that if one heard a recording of the dialogue wouldn’t be completely apparent.

  2. blkdrama March 5, 2015 at 6:06 am #

    Good thing it was a pleasant chat. Sometimes they aren’t so people friendly. In and out, that’s the best 🙂

  3. jhaworthoy March 5, 2015 at 6:07 am #

    This made me smile and chuckle. I think that all of us having gone through this procedure can relate. Isn’t it amazing how this light chatter is taking place the whole time our sensitive body parts are being squashed in a vice!

  4. Kathy Douglas March 5, 2015 at 6:11 am #

    It is crazy, isn’t it! But also SO very important!!!

  5. Maggie Brooks March 5, 2015 at 7:23 am #

    This post made me laugh. How odd it is we try and make something so awkward feel so normal. I had the same experience recently at my annual gyno visit…I would have rather been having my northern parts adjusted while holding a conversation than the parts my doc was messing with…

  6. arjeha March 5, 2015 at 8:22 am #

    I can honestly say that I have never had this done. 🙂 However, I have hod other invading procedures where the banter was light to help distract me from what was being done.

  7. Lauren Lynfield March 5, 2015 at 11:21 am #

    These technicians are wonderful! They manage to make us feel at ease (well, as close to at ease as is possible given the circumstances) while remaining totally professional and cheery. Glad you’re okay!

  8. lynnjake March 5, 2015 at 12:56 pm #

    Oh I can so relate! The spreading and smashing as if your breast was a piece of pie dough, all while having a nice chat. For a while the technician who di dmy mammograms was the mother of a friend of mine, and we chatted about her kids the whole time she was manipulating me. The weird part of that is that it just seemed sort of normal while it was happening! Thanks for this fun post.

  9. newtreemom March 5, 2015 at 5:11 pm #

    I am going to think about this when it’s turn next month.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

