Unraveling Portland #SOL15

6 Mar

The first weekend in March always brings The Rose City Yarn Crawl.

Unknown

A Yarn Crawl is an organized event focused on exploring the yarn shops of an area over a specific time period. This year’s crawl runs from Thursday, March 5th through Sunday, March 8th. Every participant has a passport and the goal is to visit all 15 yarn shops in the Metro Portland area. I have only filled the passport once. I probably won’t fill it this year, due to other events this weekend, but I am not letting that stop me from having a bit of fun.

I have made it to three shops already.

KnittingBee-logo ForYarnsSake-logo-new   DublinBay-logo

The really cool thing is that every shop has yarns the other doesn’t. Oh, there is sometimes a little overlap, but there is something unique at each. And that is part of the difficulty. I set  a budget, allowing myself a finite amount I can spend. So I have to be careful. I am on a mission to get yarn for Christmas presents I plan to knit. I’m not divulging what or for whom, just in case they read this. Sometimes, the decisions are hard to make, but  I rarely by at the first shop I visit and this year was no exception. I don’t want to dip into my cash too early.

I ended up buying some lovely fingering weight yarn made by Three Irish Girls. It is Adorn sock yarn and the color way is Red Forest. I think, once knitted up, it will look like autumn leaves.  IMG_1830

7 Responses to “Unraveling Portland #SOL15”

  1. Kathy Douglas March 6, 2015 at 5:59 am #

    What a great event for your community! I do more crocheting than knitting, but I still connect to the yarn travel idea. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Lindy Lou March 6, 2015 at 5:59 am #

    What a happy day for you! Love that you included pictures of the yarn. It is beautiful.

  3. Judy C. March 6, 2015 at 8:15 am #

    What fun that would be! I love to touch and feel the textures, Our yarn “shops” consist of Wal-mart and Hobby Lobby. Lucky you to have so many. Happy shopping!

  4. arjeha March 6, 2015 at 8:39 am #

    Kathy enjoys the shop hops we have here. There are several quilt shops involved and each one has a pattern for a block that can be made into a full sized quilt when put together.

  5. Lisa March 6, 2015 at 1:53 pm #

    Pretty! A former colleague learned how to spin and dye her own wool for knitting projects. The trouble then became finding the raw wool. We crafty people are a bit crazy, right?

  6. Mary Dunn March 6, 2015 at 5:09 pm #

    That sounds like so much fun to me. I am assuming you are referring to Portland Oregon. I love that town. I live near Portland Maine and I love yarn shops and fiber farms.

  7. mrssurridge March 6, 2015 at 7:30 pm #

    Portland has something for everyone. A Yarn Crawl is such a great idea. I am always amazed at the creativity of humans. Enjoy your creations. It sounds like someone is going to have a terrific Christmas.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

