Knitting projects #SOL15

17 Mar

Today I looked back over the SOL posts I wrote last year and laughed because I made a similar post to today’s on March 6th, when I introduced the project and March 30th, when I finished it. So, today, you get the 2015 version.

My church has a school and the school holds an auction. I knit for the auction. This year’s project is a hat, gloves, scarf set.

IMG_1839 IMG_1840

IMG_1842

 

I used to have an aversion to variegated yarn, but have fallen in love with it recently. I think it is the rhythm of the repeating pattern. Although it is the exact same yarn in all three projects, the colors manifest themselves in slightly different ways.

I was really happy with how these all turned out. I thought the scarf would kill me because it is a boring two-row repeat, for hundreds and hundreds of rows. I made it through series 1-3 of Prime Suspect.

Knitting gloves has become a new passion and some family members might be getting some gloves for Christmas. Might is the operative word. I have two other projects lined up; one for a baby shower coming in late April (I hope) and another will be the sweater I knit each year to raffle off at the Oregon Basset Hound Games. I know what the baby gift will be, but I’m still working out the design for the sweater.

3 Responses to “Knitting projects #SOL15”

  1. arjeha March 17, 2015 at 7:44 am #

    What talent you have! It is neat to see how the same yarn gives three distinct patterns in the different projects – a unity that ties the three projects together.

  2. mgminer March 17, 2015 at 6:54 pm #

    Knitting is such a great hobby, therapy, and art. I love the hat/scarf/glove set! I think variegated yarns are prettier than they used to be. I’m also a knitter:). I’ve been writing more than knitting this month:).

    • Adrienne March 18, 2015 at 5:17 am #

      I’ve knit less this month, too. But I had to get this done. it was supposed to be turned in in february. The event isn’t until April and they know people will be late. So I felt I had to finish it soon. No new projects until the SOLC is over.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

