Favorite Names #SOL15

18 Mar

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

A week or so ago, my brother-in-law reminded me of a student I once taught, named Henry Heppenheimer. The details about him are sketchy in my brain, but his name is not. i have a collection of student names that I like and his is one of my faves.

Another favorite I’ve collected is Oupasong Sisombath, or Oupie, as we called her. How can you not LOVE a kids name Oupie?! She was in grade two and had a brother named Monivong, but that wasn’t as fun to say. They were refugees from Cambodia at the first school I taught at. That’s where I started to learn about refugee kids. Aside from my 3 years in Medellin, Colombia, where I taught the very wealthy, my career has been at mostly  low-income schools, with a lot of immigrant families.

This year, I have three kids in my class from Nepal. And one from Afghanistan.

One of my favorite name stories is from a few years ago. I taught a boy named Nermin. His parents were Bosnian and fled the Balkan war in the 1990’s for Germany, where Nermin was born. When I had him in 4th grade, his mother was pregnant. When he came back to school after his brother was born. Nermin was shaking his head. All he said was, “They named him Ermin!”

There are host of names that teachers collect. Angel, a 4th grader from my first years of teaching, was the first kid to call me the B-word.  There is the “Names I’d Never Name my Kid” list, based on naughty or difficult children we’ve taught. She was the first on that list for me.

I wonder, what names do you remember?

10 Responses to “Favorite Names #SOL15”

  1. gillis March 18, 2015 at 6:06 am #

    Quicksilver Reilly III. He was not actually the third in his lineage to have this name, but they added it to his birth certificate because they liked the way it sounded.

  2. Sonja Schulz March 18, 2015 at 6:08 am #

    oh, I have names that have stuck with me through the years, too! and that list of names that I could never name my kids based on the particularly naughty ones I taught? That made it difficult as I had taught for 9 years before having kids!!! My list was L-O-N-G!

  3. aggiekesler March 18, 2015 at 7:04 am #

    Cool post! I think we all have the “names we will never name our kids” list. Dakota is on that list for me! 🙂 My favorite name ever was Astonishean Miracle.

    • Adrienne March 18, 2015 at 7:13 am #

      No way!!! That is too cool.

  4. Stacey Shubitz March 18, 2015 at 8:42 am #

    I remember the name Xavier Lafayette Fox, who was the most memorable bellman I’ve ever encountered at a hotel. He introduced himself by his full name and charmed my daughter (and her Teddy Bear) as we got off the road for a night at a hotel in Roanoke, VA. I wrote his name down because it was so distinct and because he took so much pride in his full name. (BTW: If you Google him, you can read more about him on Trip Advisor and sites like that. Reason I know this? I Googled him because I didn’t want to be the first one to put his name out there. After all, it is his name, not mine.)

    • Adrienne March 18, 2015 at 10:09 am #

      That sounds like such a southern gentleman’s name! If that were my name, I’d proudly say the whole thing, too.

  5. heisereads March 18, 2015 at 11:56 am #

    I have many I remember, but I wonder, as this post reminded me of it, have you read Yangsook Choi’s The Name Jar? It would pair perfectly with your Slice today!

  6. newtreemom March 18, 2015 at 2:02 pm #

    In a south Georgia school, there was a girl in the Title tutoring program I worked in named Roziner (pronounced Ro- zeen-a). We had a girl in my current school named I’mUnique… it has been rumored mom was planning the middle name AndUrNot, but someone talked her out of it. Like the Angels who were not angelic, I have had several students named Jesus who less than lived up to their name. A favorite.. my foster son… Sonney Rain-No-More (truly his legal name).

  7. arjeha March 18, 2015 at 4:06 pm #

    I must admit that in all of my years of teaching I had no students with memorable names. (could be that I am old and senile and forgot them.) I do have names that I would never name a child because of students they brought to mind. I guess it is a good thing we never had children.

  8. Lisa March 19, 2015 at 4:13 pm #

    Jaron (fake middle name to prevent googling) Schwartz. I was substitute teaching in a grade 6 class. It was one of my first. All I had to do was show them a movie for 45 minutes, and send them on their way. He bit his pen in half and came to me with a mouth full of ink.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

