Should I call? #SOL15

22 Mar

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

I live in a quiet neighborhood. And the ten-unit condominium I live in is very quiet. Most of us are over 40, and one person has a 3-year old. All the units but one are owner occupied. It’s not Melrose Place, and thank goodness.

Our peace was disturbed a few nights ago, when I was sleeping with my window open. I was awoken just after midnight by a neighbor yelling  and pounding on her door. As I listened to “Open the f***ing door,____!” over and over, I lay in bed trying to figure out what was happening.  There are three couples in our condo. The voice didn’t sound like Jennifer next door, or Sue two doors the other way. Could it be the renter? She and I seem to move on very different schedules and I’ve only seen her twice, What was her name? donna? Debbie? I’m pretty sure it was something with a D.

I listened some more, trying to determine the exact location of the door as she continued. I also learned more as she yelled.  I finally made out the name she was yelling: Duncan. Duncan, inside the home, had stolen her keys and she was locked out. Apparently some jealousy was involved and Duncan had been drinking. I couldn’t determine if she had been drinking, too. her words seemed clear, but she was yelling loudly around midnight on a Wednesday.

Once it was clear in my mind, I wondered, should I help? If so, how could I help? I am 50, short and in no condition to help if this becomes violent, so going outside was not an option. Should I call the police? I should call the police. Just as I came to that conclusion, the tone changed outside. I could hear a conversation. Then I heard a whisper, “The police are on their way.” It seems Sue and Andrew discussed all that was going on in my head and had reached the same conclusion a little more quickly.

After that, the yelling stopped, the police arrived. Discussions, doors opened. I haven’t seen Donna/Debbie  since that evening. Things have quieted down and I hope everything is OK.

 

14 Responses to “Should I call? #SOL15”

  1. spiffygryphy March 22, 2015 at 6:08 am #

    Sometimes it’s hard to know when to act and when to see if things will play themselves out. Sounds like you reached the right decision!

  2. rosecappelli March 22, 2015 at 6:09 am #

    It’s so disorienting to be woken in the middle of the night, especially with something so out of place. Glad things are back to normal.

  3. Ms. Kelly March 22, 2015 at 6:16 am #

    Once I started reading, I just had to continue reading,

  4. Jaana March 22, 2015 at 6:42 am #

    I would have been thinking exactly like you. Deciding what to do is very difficult. I hope that if this ever happens in my neighborhood that I have neighbors that take action while I am still pondering the issue. I hope all is well in your neighborhood again.

  5. bennisbuzz March 22, 2015 at 6:49 am #

    Scary stuff. Trying to decide to get involved. No one wants to be that person that didn’t call the police should something deadly happen. This slice brought to mind a powerful self connection. I was with my grandson once in a hotel that the airline put us in for the night when a flight was cancelled. In the middle of the night, a man was banging on our door to let him in. The hotel doors were on the street, not interior. Scared me to death. I got up and yelled that I was not the name he was screaming and seeking. He left. Needless to say, didn’t sleep a wink the rest of the night.
    D 🙂

  6. litcoachdanak March 22, 2015 at 7:11 am #

    Sounds like you have a great news report going here! That is scary when something like that happens! I am glad everything resolved itself!

  7. arjeha March 22, 2015 at 7:13 am #

    Glad thing did quiet down for you. That is a tough call to make especially when neighbors are involved. Who knows what kinds of repercussions could occur.

  8. LibraryDragon March 22, 2015 at 7:19 am #

    You hit on a universal question. Most of us have similar arguments in our own heads. I’m glad your situation had a good ending.

  9. freegriffa March 22, 2015 at 8:32 am #

    I could picture the scene with you behind the door, stressing because it’s tricky, right? Glad the police came

  10. Sonja Schulz March 22, 2015 at 9:01 am #

    it is so difficult to decide what to do at times like these—so glad they aren’t the norm for you in your area! years ago, while a newlywed, we lived in some apartments that had a weekly “show” similar to what you describe in the apartment right across the parking lot from us. So regular you could set your watch by it (college town)—was very glad when we moved to a quieter place.

  11. Lisa March 22, 2015 at 10:31 am #

    It is tricky, but maybe it shouldn’t be. Our neighbours sons were having a party when the parents were out of town. We didn’t know if we would need to call the cops! Lucky we didn’t have to, but we would have. Sometimes Debbie/Donna doesn’t know how much she needs our help.

  12. Morgan March 22, 2015 at 11:32 am #

    You captured this internal conflict with questions and investigative observations (like your inference about whether she and been drinking). Your piece reminds me of why “close reading” is such an important skills. In just a few moments, you showed how you closely “read” this situation and made decisions based on information “from the text” and from your experiences in the world. Great job!

  13. elsie March 22, 2015 at 12:12 pm #

    Shouting in the night creates a great slice, but scary in the moment. I’m glad it all worked out in the end.

  14. Theresa March 22, 2015 at 7:33 pm #

    We have been in the same situation in our complex a few times. Once it got so out of control that people actually came out of their places to stop the shouting and fighting. It was bizarre. Glad all seems okay now.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

