Cooking with bassets #SOL15

28 Mar

IMG_1846

 “It is a truth universally acknowledged,

that a single cook in possession of a good recipe,

must be in want of a basset hound.”

In an effort to pursue my goal of having healthy lunches on hand, I went to the kitchen to make soup. The cook in The Tale of Despereaux  says “And when times are terrible soup is the answer.” She also goes on the say, ” There ain’t no point in making soup unless others eat it. Soup needs another mouth to taste it another heart to be warmed by it.” Kate DiCamillo, you are a poet.

And so, I found myself in the kitchen yesterday morning with a helper. Notice the active stance I had to take. There was no moving Fiona, who was hoping for some droppage. Here’s what she wanted.

IMG_1845

Yes, carrots and parsnips. As a kid, parsnips horrified me. As an adult, I find them delectable. I like them roasted and they make fabulous soup. Today’s soup was carrot parsnip. I started with a pot full of vegetable stock.

IMG_1847

Added the chopped carrots and parsnips, along with some salt and pepper.

IMG_1848

Brought it all to a boil, then let it simmer for about half an hour. At they point i took it off the heat and let it cool a bit before using the immersion blender. And voilà!

IMG_1849

Several lunches for the freezer. I did take a little taste and it is quite delicious. Take that high cholesterol and blood sugar!

8 Responses to “Cooking with bassets #SOL15”

  1. 3011mileswestofvt March 28, 2015 at 5:18 am #

    This post makes me laugh. We have three corgis. Our cooking life is much the same as they are ever optimists for rare occurrences of “food from the sky”. As they insist on going with us whenever Herb or I walk to another room, I sometimes feel like that last scene from The Mary Tyler Moore show, where the group hug of Mary and Grant and her coworkers shuffles as one to get the box of kleenex. Love your dog stories. Enjoy the lovely soup in the company of long stubby-legged dogs. We are kindred spirits here.

  2. arjeha March 28, 2015 at 6:47 am #

    Cooking is always better with help. We don’t get that kind of help. Our cats, Ned in particular. wants his food first before we even get a pot out. He is extremely self-centered. Your soup looks delicious. I have never had that combination.

    • Adrienne March 28, 2015 at 7:00 am #

      This is a new soup to me. I’ve made other soups with parsnips, but never this one. Time will tell if it is a keeper or not.

  3. jodimahoney March 28, 2015 at 7:05 am #

    Good for you! Cooking is always more fun with a friend – even a furry one! Love this.

  4. keitheduardo March 28, 2015 at 7:32 am #

    Is the soup really that easy?

    • Adrienne March 28, 2015 at 7:38 am #

      es. It is not fancy, but it is tasty. I have also made a really easy cauliflower soup. Just broth, cauliflower and fennel seeds. It is delicious.

  5. elsie March 28, 2015 at 7:45 am #

    The question remains, did Fiona find some droppage? Or did you give her a lick of some of that soup? I hope she did get some, after all she did keep you company. Our basset was not interested in carrots. She chewed, then spit them out.

  6. mrssurridge March 28, 2015 at 8:13 pm #

    Cooking with friends is just more fun…it adds love to the pot. When I was growing up I thought soup all came in a can. When I made my first soup is when I truly fell in love with “having soup for dinner” or lunch, or even breakfast. I’ve rarely met a (homemade) soup that I didn’t love.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

