Out of the Frying Pan….#SOL15

31 Mar

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

The end of the Slice of Life Challenge means that NaPoWriMo is about to begin.

napofeature4

NaPoWriMo,National Poetry Writing Month,  is an annual project in which participating poets attempt to write a poem a day for the month of April. My Literacy differentiation group actually started today, since we only meet on Mondays and Tuesdays.

Th kids groaned when I told them about NaPoWriMo. We talked about what poetry is and how you get to bend the rules sometimes. I showed them my previous NaPoWriMo journals, but refused to read anything out of it yet. I gave them their NaPoWriMo journal (just a cover page on a bunch of folded pages) and their first prompt: write a poem with a lie.

They knew they had to take some time to quietly think, then write. It took them a bit to get settled, but I could tell when it happened, when the grumblers had turned into poets.

When they seemed to be getting restless again I announced it was time to share. They knew that sharing would be optional but that I would share my writing. I just wouldn’t share it before they started. I read my poem from today:

I didn’t take your toy.

OK, I touched your toy, but I didn’t take it.

Maybe I took your toy, but I didn’t play with it.

So, I played with it a little, but I didn’t have fun.

It was sort of fun, but I wasn’t rough.

I guess I might have been a bit rough, but I certainly didn’t break your toy.

Honestly!

The kids laughed and a few volunteered. I read my poem form last year, and then almost everyone volunteered.

By the end, I think I had them all convinced it wouldn’t be too bad a month.

7 Responses to “Out of the Frying Pan….#SOL15”

  1. blkdrama March 31, 2015 at 5:15 am #

    I took your toy and loved it! I have take that April challenge and loved it, but not this time around.

  2. Samantha Marquardt March 31, 2015 at 5:28 am #

    I love the idea of writing a poem a day during April! This would be wonderful to do with students!!

  3. agurney2015 March 31, 2015 at 6:03 am #

    They also sponsor writing something like 75,000 words (short novel) in the month of November. It is quite the challenge. Good luck and have fun!

  4. arjeha March 31, 2015 at 7:22 am #

    Love the poem. A great way to show students the joy of poetry. Good luck with the challenge. I look forward to reading your Tuesday slices. Thank you for all of the comments you left me.

  5. jarhartz March 31, 2015 at 9:24 am #

    Wonderful prompt for kids! We’ll do a bit of this work too. Even though it seems scary at first, most enjoy the feeling they get with poetry.

  6. Tara Smith March 31, 2015 at 2:34 pm #

    Oh, you are brave to take on yet another challenge! Love the prompt and can’t wait to share it with my kids.

  7. Quirkyclassroom April 7, 2015 at 1:44 pm #

    Such an cute poem! I might take the challenge… But it’s a hectic month and I’m afraid I’ll forget. But we’ll see where this goes and it should set a good example for my students 🙂

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

