Summer Vacation,Day1: The Recovery Phase

16 Jun

sol

The kids finished Friday. We sent them off in a flurry of bubbles as the buses pulled away.We teachers were excited and happy, but new our vacation didn’t start yet. We had to come back on Monday to clean up and check-out.

Saturday all I wanted to do was sleep.  My eyes felt heavy all day. I took two 20 minute naps and went to bed early that evening. When  awoke Sunday morning, I felt much more alert.

Yesterday, we revived a tradition from many years ago and met for breakfast at Elmer’s before beginning our summer cleaning. The breakfast was huge and made it possible to work through lunch because i was not hungry. I packed and labeled 19 boxes to ship to my new school, collected 2 boxes to donate to new teachers and brought 4 boxes home. I took down the last bulletin board and removed all the staples. I filled two garbage bags and both recycling boxes.

One by one, my teammates came in to say they had finished and were checking out until I was alone in Blue Hall.  By the time I was ready to check out at 2:30, I was sweaty and exhausted. My back ached, my muscles hurt and my feet throbbed.

And then I was gone.

I got home and drank about 6 glasses of water and ate a salad for dinner. I had a shower then went to bed early, again.  Stretching out under the covers felt like a little bit of heaven.

I woke up this morning a little sore in places, but not as much as I expected to be.

I guess, I am already in recovery mode.

8 Responses to “Summer Vacation,Day1: The Recovery Phase”

  1. cmargocs June 16, 2015 at 5:26 am #

    It’s my first day of summer, too, though I was officially off as of last Thursday. Waffling between being productive and being lazy today. It sounds like you have a great adventure ahead, moving to a new school next year!

  2. Erika Victor June 16, 2015 at 5:41 am #

    Good luck with your transition. Summer definitely has its phases:)

  3. agurney2015 June 16, 2015 at 5:42 am #

    I love that you took some time for yourself – sleeping in and 2 naps! It is a luxury we don’t often grant ourselves during the school year. My last day is today – tomorrow, I lay at the pool.

  4. arjeha June 16, 2015 at 6:21 am #

    Hope you have a great summer recharging for a year that will be filled with many new and exciting possibilities.

  5. The Styling Librarian June 16, 2015 at 7:00 am #

    8 days of work left… anticipation. Happy you’re already giving yourself rxr time! 🙂

  6. franmcveigh June 16, 2015 at 8:55 am #

    Love routines – old and new that provide time to rejuvenate! My vacation will begin after July 3rd. Looking forward to days without schedules! HA!

  7. jrizzotto0808 June 16, 2015 at 1:04 pm #

    Recovering from using magic- http://jrizzotto.com/

  8. Tara Smith June 16, 2015 at 3:16 pm #

    I will be where you are in a few days…welcome summer! Welcome sleep!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

