My summer footwear dilemma – a Slice of Life Story

7 Jul

sol

For me, footwear is pretty black & white: I either wear shoes and socks, or I go barefoot. There are a few exceptions. I have Birkenstocks, but usually wear them with socks. Yup.  I have a pair of heelless mules for dress up.  And I have a pair of old lined Crocs that I consider my slippers. During the summer, I am usually barefoot in the house. As we go into day 8 of our heat wave, I have encountered a footwear dilemma.

I have been limiting the girls’ walks. We take an early morning walk, but after that, I take them outside for brief potty breaks. Normally, I put on my slippers to do this. But, my slippers are too warm these days. I don’t like to be barefoot during a potty break, just in case. Putting on shoes & socks is a lot of work for a brief stint outside. So, I came to the conclusion I needed flip-flops.

So, I bought a pair. I decided to get this cute pair.

IMG_1951

But, I don’t really like walking in them.They are comfortable enough, but I tend to curl my toes while I walk to keep them from falling off. This makes going down steps a little tricky. I’m not sure why I am so inept at walking in flip-flops. It shouldn’t be this hard, should it? I don’t wear high heels because I never really learned to walk in them, but I used to walk easily in flip-flops. What happened to me? Maybe it is just lack of practice. As the heat wave rolls on I hope I will become more adept.

6 Responses to “My summer footwear dilemma – a Slice of Life Story”

  1. Linsey Taylor July 7, 2015 at 4:56 am #

    Ha! I’m having a heart attack about your lack of shoes! When my family and I moved my husband was helping me put up my shoes in our new closet… Bad idea. Such a bad idea! He couldn’t understand why I need so many pair of black shoes. I mean, really who doesn’t understand that you need black tall boots, black short boots, black heels, black Mary Jane dressy flats, black Mary Jane Croc, black dressy flip flops, black casual flip flops, black Converse… I’m sure I’m missing a pair! Lol I hate to mentioned the brown shoes and the ALL the fun color shoes I have… OK, I might have a shoe problem. Lol Good luck with your heat wave shoe dilemma!

  2. arjeha July 7, 2015 at 6:17 am #

    Had to laugh. My wife is a shoe collector…as well as a purse collector. After hearing about foot problems people who wear flip flops are having I am not a fan of then.

  3. daddiseducator July 7, 2015 at 9:08 am #

    Love this. Shoes really do say so much about a person. The one story my mom has shared with me about her own writing is how she wrote an essay in high school about her father’s boots. They so represented who he was. I would say our shoes change as we do. Sometimes new things don’t fit, and sometimes it takes awhile until they feel just right.

  4. jarhartz July 7, 2015 at 9:14 am #

    Flip flops are near and dear to my heart. I love them. Have lots of them. Wear them all summer long. I think I have such a passion for them because they mean summer.

    When my kids were little we’d go to the pool and flip flops were a necessity. Well, my kids weren’t natural flip flop walkers. That whole curling of the toes thing was something that needed to be taught. I think you’re just out of practice! It will come back. 🙂

  5. 3011mileswestofvt July 7, 2015 at 11:30 am #

    This post made me smile. We have a new puppy. So easy on/off footwear is a must for me these summer days. For the longest time I couldn’t stand to wear thongs as my ticklish feet could not tolerate anything between my toes! I seem to have gotten over it. I hope the heat dissipates soon for all of you in Oregon. So early for such a string of century mark weather.

  6. Michelle Haseltine July 7, 2015 at 2:09 pm #

    A post about flip flops!!! LOVE this! I agree with Julieanne…it’s simply practice. I predict by the end of summer you’ll declare your undying love for flip flops. Thank you for the smile today. Love this slice!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

