A Little Funeral Humor: A Slice of Life Story

4 Aug

sol

After my father’s funeral on Saturday, most people were going back to my eldest sister’s house for a reception. I drove there with my twin sister, her husband and my mother, who wanted to stop at her place on the way home so she could change clothes and drop off the flowers and urn.

When we got to her apartment building, we dropped Mom at the front door so we could park, telling her we’d carry everything in. After parking my brother-in-law, Tom, took the flowers, my sister, Andrea, took purses because she had a key to Mom’s building, and I carried the urn. Once in the building, we pushed the button for the elevator and got on as soon as the doors opened. We didn’t realize it was going down until it started. No matter. It was only one floor down.

When the elevator doors opened in the basement, a very tall man and a short woman got on. Realizing what we carried, the man avoided eye contact. The woman  took it all in with her eyes. You could see her looking at the flowers, reading the words on them: Husband, Father, Grandfather. She looked at me, the bearer of the urn, and said, “Is that him?”. All I could do was nod.

It was all over in a moment. The doors opened on the 3rd floor and they stepped out. As soon as the doors closed, we burst into laughter. I’m sure they could hear us as we travelled all the way up to the tenth floor.

8 Responses to “A Little Funeral Humor: A Slice of Life Story”

  1. Annette Rochelle Aben August 4, 2015 at 6:31 am #

    ❤ this.

  2. arjeha August 4, 2015 at 6:42 am #

    Where would we be if we couldn’t laugh, even in times of great sorrow. Love this slice.

  3. Andrea Gillespie August 4, 2015 at 6:44 am #

    Reblogged this on andrea gillespie and commented:
    This did really happen. I am glad my sister wrote about this funny weekend moment.

  4. aweekoraweekend August 4, 2015 at 8:10 am #

    Adrienne – I’m so very sorry for your loss, but it is good to have people to laugh with during difficult times. Remind me to tell you a funny story about my grandma on the runway sometime. Be well!

    • Adrienne August 4, 2015 at 9:29 am #

      Thanks! can hardly wait to hear it. Family stories are just so darn fun to tell.

  5. Maureen Ingram August 4, 2015 at 9:01 am #

    It is so beautiful that you found the grace of laughter in the midst of such a sad occasion! Laughter is so healing! I’m so sorry for your loss.

  6. mrssurridge August 4, 2015 at 9:22 am #

    I love the way you ended this. You made me laugh. So sorry for your loss.

  7. Tara Smith August 4, 2015 at 4:54 pm #

    Well…you had the last laugh. And that must have been sweet.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

