Advent Calendars: A Slice of Life Story

24 Nov

sol

Growing up, we didn’t really “do” Advent. The first I heard of it was in Grade 5, after we’d moved to  New Hamburg, Ontario,  population 3,500 and home to about 10 churches, including two Lutheran (which we referred to as the red Lutheran or the white Lutheran) and three Mennonite churches. Everybody went somewhere. We went to Zion United Church and that is where I first heard about the concept of Advent.

Unknown

My sister and I joined the Junior Choir and soon learned that when we heard the tones of “O Come, O Come Emmanuel”  and “Come, Thou Long Expected Jesus”,  Advent was upon us. Aside from special hymns at church, though,  we did nothing else to mark the season.

It wasn’t until I spent my first Christmas away from home as an exchange student in Denmark that I became acquainted with the Advent calendar. My Danish host parents gave me a home-made fabric calendar that had a little present tied to each of the 24 rings on it, one for each of the 24 days leading up to Christmas. I remember that most of the presents were useful gifts: a thimble, folding scissors, that sort of thing. Every morning my host mother would ask what I got that day as we talked over coffee when I got home from school.

It seemed that after I returned home, I suddenly noticed the appearance of the boxed advent calendars with a little piece of chocolate behind each day’s door.

Unknown-1

This year, my sister has outdone herself. She sent me a DAVIDsTEA 24 Days of Tea 2015 advent calendar!It looks like a simple box, but it opens to reveal the beauty and joy within.

!IMG_2121 IMG_2122

Yes, one festive holiday tea for each of the 24 days before Christmas.  I snuck a peek at day 1’s tea,

IMG_2124

 a caffeine free blend called sleigh ride that contains the following ingredients: Apple, Beet Root, Candied Papaya, Cinnamon Sticks, Coconut Chips, Hibiscus Blossoms, Natural Flavours, Pineapple, Popped Rice, Raisins, Roasted Almonds. It looks good enough to eat!

DAVIDsTEA-Sleigh-Ride-Tea-IG

For now, I’m just thinking about it. I can wait the week until December 1st. Really, I can. But, I won’t tell you if I don’t.

7 Responses to “Advent Calendars: A Slice of Life Story”

  1. arjeha November 24, 2015 at 9:31 am #

    What a great way to enjoy the Advent season. Hope you enjoy your daily tea.

  2. Stacey Shubitz November 24, 2015 at 9:46 am #

    Advent calendars are fascinating to me. I wish Jews would do something similar in the countdown to the Jewish New Year. I think it would be a fun way to mark the passage of the month of introspection that precedes Rosh Hashanah. (Just sayin’.)

    Happy Thanksgiving, Adrienne.

  3. Haddon Musings November 24, 2015 at 11:28 am #

    Wow, you have a special sister. Enjoy.

  4. Tricia Ebarvia November 24, 2015 at 6:58 pm #

    Advent calendars were one of my favorites parts of the Christmas season. I went to Catholic school, and I remember how much I loved when it was my turn in class to open one of the Advent windows in our classroom calendar. We also had one at home my mom would either make or purchase from the Christmas bazaar. I loved the anticipation and countdown! Enjoy your sister’s gift!!!

  5. Lisa November 25, 2015 at 3:32 pm #

    I didn’t even know these were part of any religious tradition until I was an adult (even though I’ve been actively involved in a Christian religion my entire life!) I really just thought of them as a candy countdown. I need to get one for my children this year.

  6. bevbaird November 26, 2015 at 9:12 am #

    I always had several advent calendars up at home – one I made that my kids would pin a new ornament on a tree, an action one where we would have a new task each day and a chocolate one for each of my kids. I just bought my own chocolate one this weekend! Lovely post of remembering!

  7. Andrea Gillespie November 26, 2015 at 12:40 pm #

    Nice to see the picture of Zion and to think about the red and white Lutheran church. 🙂

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

