Real Oregonians don’t use umbrellas.

8 Dec

It is a truth universally acknowledged: real Oregonians don’t use umbrellas.

I have one, but I keep it in my closet.

Seriously.

I’m not really a closeted umbrella user. I keep it there because I have fond memories of my umbrella. It is a Christian Dior. Seriously.

Photo on 12-7-15 at 7.44 AM

I keep it because my parents gave it to me one Christmas way back in the 80’s and I’ve managed to keep to through countless moves. I remember when we got them (my sister got one, too, only hers was red paisley) my twin sister and I felt like this was a grown up sort of gift to get.

I brought it with me when I moved to Oregon, but I’ve almost never used it here because real Oregonians don’t use umbrellas.  We mostly get by with a good hooded rain jacket. In fact, I don’t actually own a winter coat, I just wear a fleece or hoodie under my raincoat. Our winter rains are usually the misty kind and so this arrangement usually works perfectly fine.

But this week is different.

Screen Shot 2015-12-07 at 7.53.50 AM

Heavy rain and floods are forecast and I wouldn’t have even thought about my umbrella, except that I have bus dismissal duty after school this week. The area I have to monitor isn’t covered and, I didn’t think my simple water-resistant shell + hoodie would cut it. So, I pulled my umbrella out of the closet and brought it to school yesterday.

I was grateful for it when I walked into school yesterday in a torrential downpour

I was grateful for it at 3:45 yesterday as I waved cars forward to pick kids up in the pouring rain.

I will be grateful for it most of the week, I think.

Some days, real Oregonians, need umbrellas.

sol

 

 

6 Responses to “Real Oregonians don’t use umbrellas.”

  1. Linsey Taylor December 8, 2015 at 5:50 am #

    Real Texans wear cowboy boots. I’m a born and raised Texas girl. I do not own cowboy boots. Use that umbrella proudly Oregon Girl!

  2. lisaorchard December 8, 2015 at 8:17 am #

    I’m stopping over from “The Slice of Life” gang. I enjoyed your post. I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one that gets emotionally attached to things. 🙂 It drives my husband crazy! I enjoyed your post!

  3. Dana Murphy December 8, 2015 at 10:24 am #

    Ha! I won’t tell your neighbors!

  4. Linda Baie December 8, 2015 at 1:57 pm #

    I have been told that one can tell a tourist from those who live there in Oregon than it is only the tourists that carry umbrellas. And now you’ve said it too. I heard about the rain, wish we could share & then you wouldn’t have had to use the umbrella! Seriously, hope all stops soon!

  5. Tara Smith December 8, 2015 at 2:58 pm #

    I love the way you crafted this! I’ve heard that folks up in Seattle say the same thing, too – but I’m always one for packing an umbrella.

  6. arjeha December 8, 2015 at 4:04 pm #

    There are times when we just have to break form the crowd and do our own thing. Enjoy your umbrella.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

