The Altercation

23 Feb

sol

It was the roar of the crowd that grabbed may attention.

It was 3:45 and I had stepped out of my room to collect the document I’d  just sent to the printer in our computer pod. I looked up and saw a gaggle of teens breaking apart. One young man came my way holding his face and I realized there was blood on his face.

“Are you okay?” I asked, a  little stunned. This was the first sign of violence I’d seen at this school.

“My mouth is bleeding. My tooth,” said the boy I’d never seen before.

“Who did this? What was his name?” I asked. I had to ask him three times before I got it. I was in a bit of shock. It had been a long time since I’d seen an altercation at school. I asked his grade and if he wanted to go to the health room, he declined. Did he need to catch a bus? He did not say, but promised me to avoid the boy who’d hit him and who was now long gone.

Letting him go, I returned to my classroom. Where would I find that form I was supposed to fill out? I hadn’t had to do one yet at this new school of mine. I found it then, as I filled the boxes, I realized I had never asked his name.

8 Responses to “The Altercation”

  1. Stacey Shubitz February 23, 2016 at 6:13 am #

    Wow! I felt the sense of urgency from the beginning of this piece. I know you have to find out his name for the firm, but you took the more important path first, which was asking if he was okay.

  2. elsie February 23, 2016 at 6:34 am #

    Forms are never the first thing to think of in this situation. Where were other teachers too?

    • Adrienne February 23, 2016 at 6:37 am #

      That was a question I also had. Each grade level is supposed to supervise their own kids and I am not an 8th grade teacher.

  3. arjeha February 23, 2016 at 7:07 am #

    What a way to end the day! Concern for the student is always first and foremost. Forms come later.

  4. Lori Sheroan February 23, 2016 at 7:42 am #

    I always stress in a moment of crisis! I’m sure the student appreciated your words of kindness and concern. Why is it that there is a form for everything…and they are always so elusive?

  5. lisaorchard1 February 23, 2016 at 8:12 am #

    It’s so sad to see violence in our schools. We have a program in our school where were working on rewarding positive behavior and ;correcting negative behavior. I’m hoping this works and puts an end to bullying issues. I hope your student is okay.

  6. jhaworthoy February 23, 2016 at 12:42 pm #

    Sometimes when we get caught off guard like that we remember to kick into gear….but there might be a few holes…like a name. Thanks for the smile.

  7. Tara Smith February 23, 2016 at 2:08 pm #

    We react so instinctively in moments like this – the name is important, but so is making sure the boy is okay and that he has a way to get home safely. Whew!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

