Frogging

3 Mar

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, the word ‘frog’ has 5 meanings.

Screen Shot 2016-03-02 at 3.18.40 PM

I hate to be a pedant, but they missed a few.

Frog can also describe a basset with his or her rear legs stretched out.

12734183_10208603900124845_2230793628733162176_n 12805691_10208791061322473_3089622027206924366_n

It is a common term in Bassetdom as many basset hounds find this position very comfy and relaxing.

Frog is also a knitting term. It is a verb of recent origin, said to come from the sound a frog makes. Ribbit sounds like rip it and means to rip out your knitting. Let me use it in a sentence for you.

Realizing I had misread the directions, I had to frog the baby dress I started Saturday.

Alas, this exemplar is also a statement of truth. I started a new knitting project on Sunday. When I found it, I read the note that said “errata available” and actually found the error and correction. But caught up in the ecstasy of a new project, I promptly forgot about it. I was about 1/3 of the way through the back of the baby dress when I realized something was off. I kept going for a bit more, then remember the  “errata available” message. I reread the correction and realized it was unsalvageable, so I frogged it.

Then, I started over, doing correctly. It looks much better now.

IMG_2211

Sometimes a little frogging is all it takes to make the world right again.

7 Responses to “Frogging”

  1. Storykeeper/Ruth March 3, 2016 at 6:06 am #

    I loved your examples especially your pictures.

  2. arjeha March 3, 2016 at 7:00 am #

    Frogging is something Kathy sometimes has to do when working on one of her cross stitch projects.

  3. elsie March 3, 2016 at 7:01 am #

    This is how our language continues to live and grow. I love the basset photos, made me miss my Ohso.

  4. rosecappelli March 3, 2016 at 1:38 pm #

    Love learning a new term. Thank you! And my dog, although not a Bassett, likes to lie like that, too. Great pictures.

  5. Dana Murphy March 3, 2016 at 7:24 pm #

    I’ve never in my life heard this term, but I love it. I feel like it can be applied to any situation where you need a do-over. I need to frog this and start over. 🙂

  6. hpmason March 4, 2016 at 1:40 pm #

    Love this addition to the dictionary. Have you thought of sending them to Merriam-Webster? That’s how new definitions get added.

  7. Melissa Edmonson March 4, 2016 at 4:35 pm #

    Corgi owners call it splooting. I wonder where that word came from.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

