The king is dead. Long live the king.

19 Mar

We’d been together a very long time.

IMG_0009

I bought my Danskos in the early 2000’s. Originally there were two pairs: Antique Brown and Black. They were incredibly comfortable and versatile. I could wear them with pants or a skirt and with one in each color, I had pretty much every wardrobe option covered. I’m not hard on shoes, but nothing lasts forever.

I put the Black pair to rest last year. This week, I realized the Antique Brown pair was kaput. The heels had fallen apart.

IMG_0011

I needed to take drastic action.

Yesterday, I bought new ones. Two new pairs. I replaced both pairs in one fell swoop.

IMG_0014

Until I picked up the new pair, I hadn’t realized how scuffed and ratty my olds ones had become. I am excited to wear them to school…once Spring Break is over.

12 Responses to “The king is dead. Long live the king.”

  1. Lynn March 19, 2016 at 7:10 am #

    There’s nothing like a broken in comfy pair of shoes! I’ve replaced shoes in the past and for some reason they never seem as comfy as the originals and I’m not sure why! Your new ones sure look nice though!

  2. keitheduardo March 19, 2016 at 7:21 am #

    Even after I buy a new pair to replace my tired pair, I have trouble discarding the old ones. Enjoy your new scoots!

  3. franmccrackin March 19, 2016 at 9:19 am #

    I get emotional about good shoes, too. Nice piece. These simple things (brown, black, versatile, comfortable) make up our lives.

  4. Glenda Funk March 19, 2016 at 11:30 am #

    It’s hard to wear out teacher shoes, so you’ve accomplished something truly important. I had a pair of red shoes similar to those you purchased. Last fall one split open on the bottom. I noticed when my foot got wet. I hated to see them go. I’m still looking for replacements.

  5. mrssurridge March 19, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

    I have two pair of boots-one black, one brown-that fell apart years ago, but I just can’t force myself to part with them. I don’t wear them, but I can’t say good-bye to such old friends. However, I have coveted a good pair of Danskos for a long time. I will keep looking at your new ones and maybe be inspired to replace my old boots for something I can actually wear.

  6. Lisa March 19, 2016 at 4:11 pm #

    I need to replace my go-to sandals, the one like your shoes that go with literally everything, and I am, having a hard time just throwing out the old ones…even though they can’t be worn anymore. I feel a bit jealous that you were able to replace them with the exact shoe!

  7. shrontk March 19, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

    So sad for your loss! 🙂 Hopefully your new pairs will be just as trusty!

  8. arjeha March 19, 2016 at 6:11 pm #

    It is hard to say good bye to a pair of well worn and broken in shoes. Hope the new ones last a long time.

  9. emily1103 March 19, 2016 at 8:04 pm #

    I feel this way about my running shoes! I just had to replace them this week, and I didn’t really think how scruffy they were until I got my brand-spanking-new ones out of the box! Enjoy your footwear. 🙂

  10. bjdonaldson March 19, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

    What a nice present to yourself during Spring Break! I think your shoes had a long and fruitful life…I hope the next 2 pairs do as well. 🙂

  11. 3011mileswestofvt March 20, 2016 at 1:15 pm #

    Good shoes are a teacher’s friend. Clogs are such universal workhorses. I began my teaching career with an old pair of clogs handmade in Portland by Multnomah Leather. I wonder if they still exist. Alas, this winter, our corgi puppy ate my most recent favorite pair of clogs. I replaced them, but though the new ones are the same size and brand….in my case Ariats, they don’t hug my foot in blissful comfort quite the same way. Likely it is my feet that are to blame-as they slowly become longer/wider with the passage of time. Here’s to stepping out in new shoes.

  12. bevbaird March 20, 2016 at 4:49 pm #

    Looks like you will now be set for awhile. Always hard to get rid of favourite shoes tho.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

