Saturday Night circa 1980

27 Mar

Growing up, we had a visitor every Saturday Night. He was a jolly fellow who arrived after dinner and brought his friends along. His name was Elwy Yost and he hosted a local program on TVOntario called Saturday Night at the Movies. The show, which  featured two classic movies, opened with a surprisingly interesting and enthusiastic intro.

The two films were separated by an intermission that, over time, grew to include interviews with actors and directors as the show became more popular.

My mom would curl up in her La-Z-Boy. Dad and I would sit on the sofa. There would often be peanuts; my dad had a passion for Spanish peanuts from Picard’s Peanuts.  It was from Elwy Yost that I learned about all sorts of classic films, actors and directors, and to love black and white movies. I became a particular fan of Powell & Pressburger films, my two favorites being A Matter of Life & Death (known in the US as Stairway to Heaven) and I Know Where I’m Going. 

UnknownUnknown-1

As I got older, and found myself babysitting in a Saturday Night, I often found myself watching movies with Elwy on my own. I remember one night, during a David Lean marathon, the parents came home  20 minutes before the end of  Lawrence of Arabia,  It was a few years before I got to see the end.

In these days of DVD, Blu-Ray and on demand, we can watch whatever we want, whenever we want. I sort of miss the day when Elwy Yost came to visit.

 

 

2 Responses to “Saturday Night circa 1980”

  1. arjeha March 27, 2016 at 6:16 am #

    These wee great ways for the family to gather for an evening together. I don’t remember anything like this, but we did have shows we watched as a family. These days with most people having some kind of device on which they can watch movies these times are gone. Pity.

  2. Christine March 27, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

    There is something to be said for watching movies on TV the old way! I recall only seeing the recorded version of Rogers and Hammerstein’s Cinderella once each year. It was an event. Or Wizard of Oz, shown once each fall. The waiting for these shows to be played was part of the fun. Thinking about our lives now and how we can click and get what we want anytime, anywhere. Sounding old fashioned but your post made me ponder the wisdom of having to wait for the good things!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

