My new doctor

19 Apr

Unknown

A mild expletive escaped my lips as I read the letter. My doctor was writing to inform me that she is moving from internal medicine to immunology, and I would have to choose a new preferred provider.

I went through this last summer with my vet. I had a big decision to make then: choose a new vet at the clinic I’d used for ten years, or go somewhere completely new.I see my vet more than I see my own doctor so this was a very big decision to make.  I opted to stay at the same clinic, but  go with Dr. Klau, the new vet hired to replace Dr, Davies. I knew I could always move on to a new clinic if he didn’t work out. So far, my experience with Dr. Klau has been excellent.

I hate going to the doctor myself. I see my own doctor once a year, but only because I have to. They have this thing about renewing my asthma medicine without seeing me. Choosing a new preferred provider was a little different from choosing a new vet. I am a part of a big HMO, so I had several locations to choose from. I went online and looked through the list of doctors accepting new patients. I studied their pictures, looked where they went to school, researched which clinics they work at, read about their hobbies.Then, I went online to look at ratings. Everything and everyone is rated these days, so I eliminate a few more. I reread their profiles and finally whose one.

Today is the big day: I have my first appointment with my new doctor after school. Although the process was a little different , the outcome of this appointment is the same as my first vet visit: I can always move on to a new doctor if it doesn’t work out.

 

 

7 Responses to “My new doctor”

  1. maribethbatcho April 19, 2016 at 6:59 am #

    I hear your concern. Starting over again with someone new is a drag. You have to go through a long history and get to know one another.
    I found my current doctor from a chef in macrobiotics. I went to her cooking class, and she mentioned his name. She talked about the weird questions he asks, and I quickly wrote his name and number down on a sliver of paper. Took me a year to call, but I have been working with him for about 13 years now. Best odd recommendation ever. Good luck to you. Hope something clicks!

  2. lisaorchard1 April 19, 2016 at 7:33 am #

    I hope this new doctor works out as well as your new vet did!

  3. arjeha April 19, 2016 at 7:39 am #

    Good luck. This is a hard decision to make simply because there are so many choices out there. I guess we never know if we’ve made the right choice or not until after that initial visit. Hope it works out well for you.

  4. terierrol April 19, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

    I hope you like this new doctor. Change is always difficult.

  5. Brian Rozinsky April 19, 2016 at 2:30 pm #

    Ch-ch-ch-changes — David Bowie had some thoughts on that topic 🙂 Thanks for sharing yours; all the best as you take your next steps today.

  6. Joanne Toft April 19, 2016 at 5:21 pm #

    Good Luck – I hate changing doctors! Hope all went well!

  7. mrssurridge April 19, 2016 at 5:49 pm #

    Eww. Changing doctors is such a crapshoot. It sounds like you have the best attitude possible for this situation–if it doesn’t work, change again. Fingers crossed.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

