An easy week that wasn’t

31 May

Unknown

It was supposed to be an easy week: only four days with kids and one of these an all day meeting with Humanities teachers. I was looking forward to the last full week of May. But as Robert Burns once wrote

The best laid schemes o’ Mice an’ Men
          Gang aft agley,
And so it was last week.  Monday, a student who still hadn’t turned in her Teen Activism book, did so after some emails to her other.  Like all PD, Tuesday’s meeting had its high and low points, but it ended well. Woohoo!
Things started going downhill Wednesday when student who has had a rough go the last few weeks, failed a test in my class. He has been an A student all year and this was very much out of character. I’d noticed a few other things with him and I slept poorly that night, worried about him. Thursday morning, feeling wretched after my poor night’s sleep I sat to grade the next stack of Teen Activism books when I noticed something unusual: the book I’d been so happy to receive Monday, was IDENTICAL to that of another student, who had turned hers in on time. After a quick chat with the girl whose work had been stolen, I contacted my VP.  According to my VP, when she asked the student why she was there, the student said “Because I stole ____’s book.” I also managed to talk to my VP about the student who failed the test. She assured me she’d check up on his situation. We are all worried about him.
Thank goodness we had no students Friday. One of our in school PD options was a mile walk around the neighborhood. I chose that as my first option and it was invigorating…just what I needed.
We have another four-day week this week, and only three weeks of school left. I hope these last three weeks are a little less dramatic.
8 Responses to “An easy week that wasn’t”

  1. Linda Baie May 31, 2016 at 5:40 am #

    I’m so sorry about your student rather falling apart, and here at the end, it’s not an easy fix, is it? I’ve had it happen too, reading along & the heart sinks because you “know”. Hope that you can have a better week this coming one.

  2. Lisa Keeler May 31, 2016 at 6:26 am #

    It seems like the end is often the hardest part, doesn’t it? I hope your student is doing better. And I hope your week is more peaceful.

  3. lisaorchard1 May 31, 2016 at 6:46 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear about your student who failed his test. I hope everything turns out okay for him. It’s too bad the other student copied her friend’s work. I’m sure she feels bad about it. I hope this week is better for you!

  4. elsie May 31, 2016 at 6:54 am #

    Let’s just hope that week was a fluke and this week will be awesome! The end of the year is stressful for everyone, teachers and students alike. Here’s to next week’s slice being the best week ever.

  5. arjeha May 31, 2016 at 8:33 am #

    Here’s hoping the remaining weeks are less dramatic. Hope all is well with the student who failed his test. Hopefully is was just a fluke and not a sign of problems he is having.

  6. Joanne Toft May 31, 2016 at 9:11 am #

    Hang in there – I am sending good thoughts for an easier week and to your students who are struggling. So hard to see anytime but especially at the end of a year. Good Luck!

  7. Dana Murphy May 31, 2016 at 10:25 am #

    I’m so intrigued by this mile walk PD option, I can’t even concentrate!

    Those are two tough situations you had with students – the hardest part of teaching is watching kids make bad choices sometimes.

    • Adrienne May 31, 2016 at 10:33 am #

      It was a beautiful late Spring morning and our PE teachers suggested it as a last minute option. It took less than a half hour. I got to talk with teachers I rarely see and I was so much more focused for the next two sessions!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

