Return Flight

5 Jul

Unknown

I am returning home from vacation today. There is a lot to do this morning so I thought I’d write some haiku.

Packing to go home

is easier than to come.

Everything must go.

Good-bye morning birdsong

Mellifluous voices of the forest

Harbingers of day

Wind through the trees

Whispers the stories

of the forest.

Three cats and a dog

Here, but at home awaits

One dog, my heart.

14 Responses to “Return Flight”

  1. medunn80 July 5, 2016 at 4:34 am #

    Ah…I know those feelings well. And is there anything better than the wind through trees whispering their stories?! I could feel it! Thank you. Hope you had a wonderful trip.

  2. arjeha July 5, 2016 at 5:25 am #

    Vacations nice, but home is where the heart is.

  3. doctorsblogging July 5, 2016 at 5:32 am #

    👍😊

  4. lisaorchard1 July 5, 2016 at 5:55 am #

    Loved your poem! Thanks for sharing with all of us!

  5. Erika Victor July 5, 2016 at 6:17 am #

    I love your poem. Being away from home makes home sweeter. Mellifluous is one of my favorite words!

  6. franmccrackin July 5, 2016 at 7:15 am #

    My favorite line is “One dog, my heart.” Really touching!
    I loved your structure of using the two different fonts and stair-stepping your haiku. I think your intention was to have them be separate poems, but I wonder if you might unite them as verses in a longer poem. One font could be where you are leaving and the other where you are returning…

    • Adrienne July 6, 2016 at 5:17 am #

      What a great idea. I did it all in a hurry to get going and didn’t really look at how it appeared on the page, but I think you are right.

  7. Loralee July 5, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

    I love how you wrote this!

  8. maryannreilly July 5, 2016 at 4:19 pm #

    Bittersweet. I especially like you last haiku.

  9. Alice Nine July 5, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

    I hope you got to see Mt Hood on your way home today. I smiled at your “packing” lines. I never thought of it being easier to pack my things at a hotel than at home… because it all has to go. I will carry that thought with me in my travels.

    • Adrienne July 6, 2016 at 5:18 am #

      Yes! We flew really close to Mt. Hood and I could see all the way to The Three Sisters.

      • Alice Nine July 6, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

        Isn’t that so beautiful!! On a few rare occasions I have seen as far south as Mt Shasta (CA) just before beginning our PDX descent when coming in across Boise.

  10. blkdrama July 5, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

    There is nothing more exciting than learning and nothing more peaceful than returning… Love both ends, you?
    Bonnie

    • Adrienne July 6, 2016 at 5:18 am #

      Me, too.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

