Happy National Coloring Book Day

2 Aug

National Coloring Book Day has me reflecting on myself as an artist.

Unknown

In first grade, I drew a picture of horse.

It was the best picture I’d ever drawn and I knew it. It LOOKED like a horse. I was  so proud of it that I took it up to my teacher, whom I loved.

She looked at it and said, “Oh Adrienne, you always rush our work.”  I was crushed.

I was never much of an artist and struggled with coloring in the lines. I joke now that I can’t draw a flower, but I can write a really great poem about one. I pulled out my first grade report cards to see if I was misremembering things and I laughed out loud.

Fall: “Adrienne has good ideas in art but has trouble expressing them.”  and “She is able to use a primary dictionary and enjoys writing one and two sentence stories using her dictionary.”

Winter: “Adrienne tends to be in too much of a hurry to complete her pictures.”  But also, “She enjoys writing short stories especially about her family and friends.”

Spring:” Adrienne’s pictures are still not complete as she does not take enough time. She would much rather write a story than draw.”

The Jesuit saying, “Give me a child until he is seven and I will give you the man” was the basis for the Up series of movies. I guess it is applicable to me as writer and artist, too.

 

8 Responses to “Happy National Coloring Book Day”

  1. Michelle Haseltine August 2, 2016 at 6:30 am #

    I love how those comments accurately reflect your memory! Hope you write a poem about coloring soon!

  2. arjeha August 2, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    Writing is coloring. The only difference is that we use words to paint a picture rather than other media. Keep coloring (writing).

    • Vesta August 2, 2016 at 9:37 am #

      art is in the eye of the beholder.

  3. Tara Smith August 2, 2016 at 8:15 am #

    That was me, too – I’d rather write than color, and when I colored, I was always outside the lines. Love that you had that first report card to check!

  4. marilynyung August 2, 2016 at 9:40 am #

    I enjoy the tone of this slice. Very conversational, yet concise. That was a first grade report card?! I wonder where my report cards are. My mother probably knows (I hope).

  5. Brian Rozinsky August 2, 2016 at 5:17 pm #

    What a great collage of memory and documentation, Adrienne! Your slice reminded me of the poem “Art Class” by X. J. Kennedy (http://lunchboxpoems.blogspot.com/2011/11/art-class.html)

  6. Amy Warntz August 2, 2016 at 5:37 pm #

    Isn’t it funny to see how comments were written when we were younger! We use the talents we were given so I’m glad you kept up with your writing.

  7. Bernadette August 3, 2016 at 5:48 am #

    I am not familiar with that saying but you certainly illustrate it.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

