If it’s not one thing, it’s another

8 Nov

I was slipping my right shoe off, toe to heel, as most people do, when I heard (and felt) a “pop” in my left knee.Pain filled my knee as I tried to stand.

Why me?Why now? I thought. I just got through the car crisis of last week.  For those of you who read last week’s post, I had to replace my catalytic converter. Ka-Ching!

I had just come in from walking Lucy before heading out the door to an Oregon Basset Hound Rescue meeting and Sunday Brunch. Not great timing for a knee situation.

I hopped to a chair and considered my options. I Googled knee injuries. Based on my symptoms it was 50/50 as to whether I should see a doctor. I decided to go to the meeting, then the doctor. I hopped to the closet where I stored the crutches leftover from an ankle sprain several years ago, then headed out the door.

When I finally saw a  doctor, he manipulated my knee and declared it an “internal knee derangement” and possibly a meniscus injury. He told me to do the things I already knew to do: the PRICE treatment (Protect Rest Ice Compression Elevation), referred me for physiotherapy and to an orthopedist.

The crutches are torture and I’ve only been on them 2 days. Fortunately, my teaching partner met me at the doors of our school with a wheelchair and wheeled me to my classroom, where I spent the day on my rolling chair.

It hurts less today. I can almost straighten it and I can put my foot flat on the floor (though I’m not ready to also put pressure) so I hope I am not on crutches too long. Please indulge whatever practice you prefer: pray for me, cross your fingers, send positive energy. This 50-year-old is too old for crutches.

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

5 Responses to “If it’s not one thing, it’s another”

  1. Lisa Orchard November 8, 2016 at 5:40 am #

    I’m so sorry to hear this, Adrienne! I hope you heal quickly. ((Hugs))

  2. Linsey Taylor November 8, 2016 at 6:56 am #

    Murphey’s Law… it comes in 3s. Sorry to hear about your car and even more so your knee! Follow doctor’s orders!

  3. Tara Smith November 8, 2016 at 10:12 am #

    Ouch! I hope for a speedy recovery for you!

  4. arjeha November 8, 2016 at 12:50 pm #

    Oh my. Wishing you a speedy recovery. Now it is time for something good to happen for you. Hope it is on its way.

  5. Brian Rozinsky November 8, 2016 at 8:53 pm #

    Positive energy being beamed your way, Adrienne. I think it’s powered by the smile generated when you shared the memorable medical phrase, “internal knee derangement.” Stay sane, as best you can.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

