Our traditional holiday lies

22 Nov

“I’m worried about the package,” my sister told me when we Skyped on Sunday. “I had to go to a different post office and the clerk gave me trouble.”

“How so?” I asked.

“Well, I lied, as always. Instead of saying the package contained tea, I said it contained chocolate. The clerk said it was a violation of Canadian and American law to send chocolate throughout the mail. So I said it was candy. I’m worried she flagged it for inspection.”

I laughed. We are always lying to federal officials on both sides of the border, about what our packages contain. They never contain anything illegal, but we lie just in case.

When I arrived home last night, I mounted the stairs chanting my new apres-knee mantra: “Good foot up, bad foot down”. I can walk unassisted, but am using a cane for security. As I reached the top step, I looked up and saw a small package at my door stoop. Oh, to be able to run or skip! It was, of course, my illicit Advent calendar.

img_2260

I sent a quick message to my sister then opened this tiny cabinet of wonders.

img_2261

One tea a day until Christmas! As a naturally curious person, I had to peek at my birthday. What tea would December 23 hold?

img_2263

Organic Kashmiri Chai! I resisted the temptation to peek at any others. I just have to wait patiently for 8 days, until I can open the first drawer.

 

 

 

12 Responses to “Our traditional holiday lies”

  1. lisaorchard1 November 22, 2016 at 5:58 am #

    You and your sister have a close relationship. I can tell in your writing. I’m glad your sister’s package made it across the border and I bet you two aren’t the only ones who lie about what your sending. 😉 Have a Happy Thanksgiving, Dianne! I’ve enjoyed getting to know you and the other Slicers this year. 🙂

  2. Alice Nine November 22, 2016 at 6:49 am #

    Ah! Family holiday traditions especially ones share with loved ones across miles are so special. I love your Advent tea calendar –“a tiny cabinet of wonders.” Thanks for sharing and Happy Thanksgiving, Adrienne.

  3. arjeha November 22, 2016 at 7:28 am #

    What a great way to count down the days til Christmas. Enjoy your daily tea. Glad to hear you are getting around much better now. Happy Thanksgiving.

  4. Brian Rozinsky November 22, 2016 at 8:51 am #

    A nifty gift & a fun slice. Who knew tea constituted such a sketchy shipment??

  5. barbara suter November 22, 2016 at 9:21 am #

    I am absolutely green with envy over your tiny tea cabinet. And what fun to discover a new surprise every day. And like you, I would not have been able to resist peeking at my birthday tea. I, too, am a December baby…December 28th! Love the pictures, too.

  6. Terje November 22, 2016 at 10:02 am #

    Ah, a tea advent calendar – a great gift. Enjoy every sip!

  7. newtreemom November 22, 2016 at 10:42 am #

    I love Advent calendars. Have fun with yours! It was a fun story!

  8. Tara Smith November 22, 2016 at 11:46 am #

    Now that is a special Advent calendar!

  9. joann hulquist November 22, 2016 at 12:19 pm #

    I love your tradition! Sending you wishes for healing for that leg. No fun!

    Joann

    Joann Hulquist Sent from my iPad

  10. kathleentobiasson November 22, 2016 at 12:24 pm #

    What a thoughtful gift! You’re so blessed.

  11. Ms Victor Reads November 22, 2016 at 2:40 pm #

    What a great slice! Shipping across country borders is a challenge, but I am glad the Advent calendar made it there safely! They sold these in Germany and I often wanted to treat myself, but didn’t:( Silly me! Enjoy the treats! Hope you are healing well.

  12. teachworkoutlove November 28, 2016 at 11:31 pm #

    Well that looks excellent!! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

