The curmudgeonly voice of reason

6 Dec

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

With temperatures forecast to dip into the low 30’s Sunday night, Oregonians became anxious and excited. Would there be a snow day? When snow falls, things shut down here in a way that makes my Canadian family shake their heads and chuckle, even as I explain how we lack the infrastructure to take care of snow.

And as soon as the first flake falls, kids start hoping for a snow day.

Monday’s snow didn’t start falling until after 9 a.m. Big white flakes were suddenly pouring out of the sky and you could hear the excitement ripple around the school. Before long, the trees outside my classroom were covered. As my first period students entered, they wanted to know if they’d be sent home. My reasoned explanation that to was safer to keep kids at school and dismiss them at the regular time was accepted, but did nothing to curb their enthusiasm.

As their excitement rose, I began to worry. I had a meeting after school that would go late and didn’t relish the idea of driving home, at night, in snow. I hoped fervently that it would melt before I had to drive.

When had I turned into this worried middle-aged curmudgeon?

We have cold, wet weather forecast for the next few days. I am going to work on my attitude and celebrate the snow, especially if I am at home.

5 Responses to “The curmudgeonly voice of reason”

  1. arjeha December 6, 2016 at 8:06 am #

    Thanks for the smile. I find that the older I get the less I like the snow. I would be fine if it just snowed on the lawns and not roads and sidewalks. Oh well.

  2. linsey taylor December 6, 2016 at 9:52 am #

    I totally understand not wanting to drive in the snow since you’re not use to it! Us Texans aren’t use to cold weather period. Lol

  3. elsie December 6, 2016 at 1:02 pm #

    There is something exciting about that first snow, but then I’m over it and ready for warmer temps. I hope the snow was melted by the time you left school. (We may have a few flakes on Wednesday, but I hope not.)

  4. teachworkoutlove December 6, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

    So u guys don’t have snow days either ?!

  5. Loralee December 7, 2016 at 1:08 am #

    Snow can definitely change a day! I love storms when everything is cancelled and everything slows down.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

