My One Little Word for 2017

3 Jan

For me, most of 2016 was excellent. Last week I reflected that I was ready to emerge from the cocoon of contentment. I had an idea for my 2017 OLW, but I needed THE WORD. As I was working though my new physic routine, it came to me:

stretch

Some of my exercises are to strengthen muscles, but others are meant to stretch parts of me that have atrophied. I am supposed stretch far enough that I feel it, but not so far that I re-injure or cause new damage. And that is precisely what I want to do.

As an introvert, it can be uncomfortable to stretch beyond my comfort zone. But I rarely regret doing so. And the buoyed confidence that results is empowering. I have some events coming that will stretch me:

I am a Cybils Audiobook judge for the first time. I know how to evaluate text and I know what I like in audiobooks. I get to learn how to blend these skills.

In three weeks I will go to the ALA conference in Atlanta and begin my term on the 2018 Sibert Informational Book Award.  My experience on the Morris Committee was excellent and a good introduction to ALA book award committees. This committee will require more work and more meetings, but I am excited to begin.

As I filled out my 2017 calendar earlier this week, I could see the  year is laid out before me. I want to meet  whatever challenges and opportunities the year brings with a cheerful and eager heart.

8 Responses to “My One Little Word for 2017”

  1. Melanie January 3, 2017 at 6:21 am #

    I love your Stretch graphic and the last line in your post: cheerful and eager heart. My word this year is expose…meaning I will emerge from my own introverted comfort zone. 🙂

    • Adrienne January 3, 2017 at 6:23 am #

      I tis hard to leave that comfort zone. I almost chose RISE, but thought STRETCH was a more realistic option for me.

  2. Joanne Toft January 3, 2017 at 7:50 am #

    Stretch is a great word. It can be used in so many ways! Working on the book committee will be great! Have a great year!

  3. Alice Nine January 3, 2017 at 8:23 am #

    Such a great word, but I must admit my first reaction was, “Ouch!” 😊 Your graphic is wonderful–putting it in the context of your words, I see your feet going many places and your arms reaching out to embrace people and plans. Happy New Year!

  4. Terje January 3, 2017 at 9:09 am #

    Stretch is a good word in all areas of life – physical, mental and emotional, personal and professional. Wishing you a wonderful year. May your OLW surprise you.

  5. arjeha January 3, 2017 at 9:39 am #

    Stretch is a perfect word. How else can we grow if we don’t stretch a little bit. Stretching does warm one up for bigger and better things. May you continue to stretch and grow. Happy New Year.

  6. rosecappelli January 3, 2017 at 10:09 am #

    Love this reminder that in order to grow we need to stretch. Congratulations on the being part of the book committee!

  7. LSquared January 3, 2017 at 1:08 pm #

    If you only build muscle without stretching you hurt yourself. Stretching is the ying of the yang. And I suspect you are so ready for a good stretch. Enjoy your discoveries in 2017!

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

