On my way to ALA #alamw17

20 Jan

midwinter-1

Today is mostly a travel day.

Lucy was dropped off at Sniff Dog Hotel last night.

images

 

She was sad & trembly, which made me sad, but I know she will be well cared for and have a good time. We arrived as people were picking up their dogs from daycare. I hope Lucy greets me as excitedly as the dogs we saw greeted their people.

When I got home from dropping her off, I  had dinner and packed my bag.

I was up very early this morning to make my 5:45 flight. I’ve never been to Atlanta. I was supposed to go to an NCTM conference there over 10 years ago, but a recurrence of a MRSA infection kept me grounded. My doctor said no flying, so I didn’t get to go.

I won’t get to see much of the city, but I have a reception Friday night at World of Coca Cola (thank you Penguin Random House). I hope to have some good meals, hear about some great books and meet some authors.

I packed  Bone and Bread by Saleema Nawaz for the flights to Atlanta.

unknown

Stay tuned for my further adventures in Atlanta.

2 Responses to “On my way to ALA #alamw17”

  1. msyinglingMs. Yingling January 20, 2017 at 4:37 am #

    How did you find out about the soirée? I review for PRH all the time, but hadn’t heard about it. I’m visiting the Margaret Mitchell house this morning. Maybe I’ll see you around.

    • Adrienne January 20, 2017 at 2:33 pm #

      I got an email. I think it is because I’m on the 2018 Sibert committee.

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

