In translation

9 Feb

After a tough day at school, I came home for some bibliotherapy, only to realize I’d taken the book I wanted to finish to school…and LEFT IT THERE. I will put it in my school bag as soon as I get to work, so I have it to finish at home tonight.

Instead, I read a stack of picture books I’d borrowed from the library. Two stood out because both have been translated from French.

The first was My Baby Crocodile by Gaëtan Dorémus. It is a quirky book.

61n3j0r3owl-_sx347_bo1204203200_

Publisher’s Summary: Told from two different perspectives, My Little Crocodile is about a chance meeting between a crocodile and what he believes to be a “baby crocodile.” This meeting profoundly changes their lives, which then continue along their own individual paths, though the bonds of love and intimacy remain. The story plays with ideas about the relationship between parent and child as well as with those about how deeply chance and the choices we make affect us throughout our lives.

The second book was also an animal story,  A Well-Mannered Young Wolf by Jean Leroy.

41jso9uj-il

Publisher’s Summary: A hilarious story about why manners matter

One morning, a young wolf eagerly sets out on his first hunting trip. But before he can devour his prey, he must honor their final wishes, just as his parents taught him to do. But the wolf’s would-be meals aren’t quite as honorable as he is! Can common courtesy prove effective amidst the wild laws of nature?

Perfect for fans of Jon Klassen, this wryly humorous book demonstrates that good manners can bring unexpected results.

They weren’t the bibliotherapy I was expecting, but they certainly took my mind off the day.

Advertisements
Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Teaching Thinking

It's what our world needs now.

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

indent

"When you know better, you do better" Maya Angelou

Always Going Home

Writing from a writing teacher

Ancient Arts Yarn

Nature | Inspiration | Glorious Colours!

Writing Workshop Blog

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Styling Librarian

In my opinion, books are the best accessory.

2015 YA & MG Debut Authors

Leaping to your bookshelves in 2015!

Sixteen To Read

YA and MG books debuting in 2016

The Sweet Sixteens

2016 Young Adult and Middle Grade Debut Authors

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

What's Your Opinion?

A site to state what YOU think!

Love.Life.Read.

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

%d bloggers like this: