Goodbye, Old Bag! #SOLSC17

1 Mar

Yesterday was our last day together. After over 20 years of near constant companionship, we are splitting up.

The end came a few days ago as I was packing my school bag and I realized, the seams on the bottom had frayed to the point of no return. If I put anything more than my lunch in my bag, a disaster might happen.

img_0596

Outside, things look perfectly fine, but her insides are all messed up. I suppose I could repair the damage, but my faith in her ability to do the job, especially when I miscalculate and have an essay and a test the same week, has been shaken. She wasn’t built to carry a laptop, a beverage and seemingly endless stacks of papers. My unfair expectations have taken their toll on her, and so, I retired my school bag.

Today, I carried my new bag to school.

She is a lovely thing, all blue and shiny, but our relationship isn’t quite as comfortable. My new bag is stiff and I find I am more formal with her, asking where I have put things, rather than knowing intuitively. I know over time, I will learn to love her as much as my old bag, but I am just not there yet.She is a bit of a diva, having her own YouTube video that shows off all her bells and whistles.

Β Do I need three Napoleon pockets? I don’t know. Only time will tell if this is a long-term relationship or a passing fancy.

10 Responses to “Goodbye, Old Bag! #SOLSC17”

  1. missmoyer March 1, 2017 at 5:28 am #

    Love this.
    I can be totally attached to certain items as well.
    Here’s to a great new relationship.

  2. aggiekesler March 1, 2017 at 5:52 am #

    I love a good bag! The fact that you got 20 years out of one bag is huge!! Have fun with your new one. I always love getting to know a new bag. πŸ˜„

  3. shaggerspicchu March 1, 2017 at 5:54 am #

    Hold on for a minute! You used that bag for 20 years? I was proud of myself for having the same school bag for 6 years. 20 years! That is impressive. I hope my bag will accompany me for another 14. You certainly do grow attached. I love the part of this slice where you say you have to ask her where you put things.

    I am looking forward to reading your slices again this year!

  4. Darin Johnston March 1, 2017 at 6:56 am #

    >She is a bit of a diva, having her own YouTube video that shows off all her bells and whistles.<

    This made me laugh out loud! We all get attached to the "things" in our lives, and how they seem to intuitively know what we want. My wish for you and your diva is to figure each other out, and make each others lives a little more simple, even with bells and whistles! πŸ™‚

    Thank you for this slice! πŸ™‚

  5. fireflytrails March 1, 2017 at 6:59 am #

    A clever take on what can be difficult – changing a habit. But you made a good decision and I am sure your new “friend” will serve you well!

  6. Alice Nine March 1, 2017 at 7:01 am #

    Great beginning and ending. Your first line awakened a bit of sadness.. “our last day together.” And your last lines made me laugh out loud–“She is a bit of a diva…” BTW, I hate breaking in new bags!

  7. arjeha March 1, 2017 at 8:43 am #

    It is so hard saying good-bye to an old friend. I know your new friend will never replace th old one but in time I am sure you will develop a wonderful working relationship. I am sure your old friend wouldn’t mind just hanging around just for old times sake.

  8. Lisa C March 1, 2017 at 11:39 am #

    I, on the other hand, love getting a new bag every year! I have a few in my closet waiting for me to need them. I bought a lovely one from Lands’ End that my husband has been using for almost 10 years though. It has too many pockets for him and he can never find the small things he needs (like keys!)

  9. terierrol March 1, 2017 at 12:32 pm #

    Just today I was thinking to myself that I need a new pocketbook. I know I will have your same feelings. Good luck with the new bag!

  10. kristalee11 March 1, 2017 at 7:26 pm #

    Ah… the bag!
    My favorite is one I was gifted 15 years ago. It’s a classic. Black and white with the traditional blackboard, chalk, and apple… and embroidered forever with the words MRS. MARY – which is what makes it forever my favorite – because my name is Mrs. Marx and typos make me smile. πŸ˜‰πŸ™„πŸ˜Š

Comments are closed.

Klickitat St. Readers

Just another WordPress.com site

Readerbuzz

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

PLUMDOG BLOG

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Gail Carriger

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Kate Messner

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Cybils Awards

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Someday My Printz Will Come

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Librarian Who Doesn't Say Shhh!

Opening books to open minds.

andrea gillespie

Inquiring My Way Forward

Kirby's Lane: A Place for Readers and Writers

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The Horn Book

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

The History Girls

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Books Around The Table

A potluck of ideas from five children's book authors and illustrators

The Book Smugglers

Smuggling Since 2007 | Reviewing SF & YA since 2008

Chez Lizzie

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Yarn Harlot

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

Diversity in YA

A blog about children's & YA lit, with some basset news thrown in

