The Best Brownies Ever

7 Mar

My source for Girl Scout cookies has dried up. She has aged out of Girl Scouts and I have changed schools, so now, I get buy them where and whenever I find them. I have found that the local Fred Meyer grocery stores are excellent sources. And yet, I haven’t timed to right this year. Until Sunday.

original

After I left my last Yarn Crawl shop, still floating on the joy of having finished, I went to Freddies to do my groceries. And there they were in the entrance way, just setting up. Could this day get any better? Apparently it could.  The girls asked me if I wanted cookies and I told them I’d catch them on the way out. They were giddy with excitement.

After getting my groceries, as promised, I stopped at the table on my way out of the store. I looked more closely at these girls, They were very young – Brownies, probably. One little girl was helping one customer, her mom hovering behind ready to step in if necessary, but not necessarily stepping in. Her partner, a cute little blonde girl came up to me very confidently.

“I want to buy a lot,” I told her. “I  like to send some to my sister.”

Her eyes grew bigger and bigger as I told her what I wanted. Her little arms filled quickly and I wasn’t done.

“Do you want me to hold them?” I asked. Her mom, standing back, laughed a little.

When I finally had all the boxes I needed (needed?) she was practically jumping. This is when Mom stepped in. She took the boxes and helped her little Brownie count by fives to figure out how much I owed. In the little Brownie’s excitement, she kept going past the number of boxes I had. Mom helped her count again.

“That’ll be  25 dollars,” she announced confidently.

“Do you have change?” I asked, offering her two twenties.

She took them and Mom again helped her count by fives to figure out my change. Again, excited, she went al little past her goal as she counted by fives. Mom helped her count again.  Then, they helped me add the boxes to my shopping bag. I thanked them and walked away.

“Thank you!” called a little voice behind me. It was my Brownie’s partner.

“You’re welcome,” I replied smiling as I turned to walk away. She kept coming.

“Thank you for supporting the Girl Scouts,” she stuttered, the words almost too big for her tiny mouth.

She waved at me and kept her hand in the air so I offered her a high five. She giggled, so I gave her another high five. I turned, grinning and walked to my car, my heart full of joy.

 

11 Responses to “The Best Brownies Ever”

  1. Annette Rochelle Aben March 7, 2017 at 6:09 am #

    I love buying directly from the Scouts themselves. I remember being a Scout and part of why the cookie sales were implemented had to do with Troop fundraising but also to teach us skills. People skills, salesmanship, etc. While I think it is nice of parents to take the sign up sheets and boxes into their offices, etc., I will only buy from a Scout who makes the pitch! ❤

  2. arjeha March 7, 2017 at 7:54 am #

    I would say that you made their day.

  3. Ramona March 7, 2017 at 8:06 am #

    Love this mom who knew just how to help and how to stand back so her little girl could grow. I love to buy from the girls at the store too. I remember staffing those tables with my Girl Scout daughter through many windy, rainy, cold March days.

  4. caroline524 March 7, 2017 at 8:43 am #

    What a lucky day! I always stock up on cookies each year. I love the way you described the little girls and their excitement. Great job!

  5. blkdrama March 7, 2017 at 9:32 am #

    What a great opportunity to create character….Love that brownie. The cookies? I’ve given them up long ago, but I loved selling them as a kid.
    Bonnie

  6. Lisa C March 7, 2017 at 10:06 am #

    Jealous!! They have better variety than the Girl Guides. 🙂

    • Adrienne March 7, 2017 at 11:03 am #

      Definitely. I grew up in Canada & that is why I get extras to send to my sister, who still lives there.

  7. terierrol March 7, 2017 at 11:16 am #

    You have been lucky lately! My husband loves those cookies too and loves it when I stash up on them.

  8. Joanne Toft March 7, 2017 at 5:39 pm #

    You made someone very happy! Maybe some ones – one little one and you! Sounds like fun!

  9. Emily Culbertson March 7, 2017 at 6:43 pm #

    Girl scout cookies are made for slicing! In the past couple or three years I have had no cookie source. I work in an elementary, so this seems wrong to me. Now, I realize that I need none of these cookies. They really aren’t a good source of nutrition. However, they are DELICIOUS! This year, I think I ordered about 10 boxes. Word got out in the 5th grade that Mrs. Culbertson was ordering cookies from anyone who asked. It got kind of crazy.

    Enjoy your cookies!

    • Adrienne March 7, 2017 at 6:44 pm #

      It is easy to go overboard, especially when they are so cute.

Comments are closed.