Veni, Vidi, Vomit

25 Jul

Nothing makes me move faster than that URP URP URP sound of a dog about to vomit.

Louie used to find and eat all sorts of nasty things. He vomited often and help speed up my reaction time.

Fiona was less opportunistic.

Lucy, like my first basset Clara, rarely vomits. And yet, it happened yesterday.

There we were, curled up on the sofa on a hot summer afternoon, enjoying the cool of the air-conditioned house. I was engrossed in the book I was reading. Lucy was curled up sleeping deeply – until she wasn’t.

In a flash she was off the sofa and the URP URP URP began.

I threw aside my book (Posted by John David Anderson) and leapt to action. I grabbed the paper towels, a trash can, and the Nature’s Miracle spray. By the time I returned, Lucy had finished, but had not yet begun the canine “ritual” that often follows. I was that quick.

Although I am a gagger, I have mastered the art of cleaning dog vomit without gagging. It mostly involves lots of paper towels and turning my head to one side. And lots of breath holding.

Within a few moments, Lucy was curled up again, none the worse for wear. I washed my hands a few times, changed out the paper towels covering “the spot”, and washed my hands a few more times. Then, I, too, was curled up on the sofa, reading as if nothing had happened.

Lucy_curled

 

5 Responses to “Veni, Vidi, Vomit”

  1. Annette Rochelle Aben July 25, 2017 at 7:16 am #

    Or a cat about to yarf…. I hear it while I am sleeping and I just know that one of us is going to have to be r-e-a-l careful when we waken.

    • Adrienne July 25, 2017 at 7:25 am #

      Ha Ha! If I hear it at night I wake right up and take care of business. Cleaning up the next morning is sure to get me gagging.

  2. arjeha July 25, 2017 at 8:18 am #

    Why is it with cats they like to wait until early morning when you are still asleep to bring up a fur ball? This always gets me out of bed and then hunting to find it begins. They never seem to stay in the same spot to show you where they were sick. They have to move and dare you to fine the spot. Joys of pet ownership…but I wouldn’t be without them.

  3. Denise Krebs July 25, 2017 at 2:56 pm #

    And you conquered! Great job. What a funny, yet sweet slice of the life you and Lucy share. I loved this line: “Lucy was curled up sleeping deeply — until she wasn’t.”

  4. Brian Rozinsky July 25, 2017 at 8:57 pm #

    Killer slice title, Adrienne! Here’s hoping yesterday’s experience for Lucy proves to be a one-off.

Comments are closed.