The 2014-15 Numbers: A Slice of Life Story

2 Sep

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Today, I return to the regular classroom, so I thought it would be fun to look at some stats.

26  years I have been a teacher

6     years since I’ve been a classroom teacher

22   number of students in my class

12   boys in my class

10  girls in my class

4     kids on an IEP

13   ESL students

8    speak English at home

10  speak Spanish at home

3    speak Nepalese at home

1    speaks Pashto at home

12 met or exceeded the 3rd grade Math/Reading benchmarks

12 did not meet  the 3rd grade Math/Reading benchmarks

I know most of the kids in my class, some better than others. All were at our school last year, a school where 85% receive free/reduced lunch. We also have 9 new teachers and 12 new staff, if I have counted correctly.

I don’t know exactly what this year will bring but I am ready to embark on this new adventure. Wish me luck!

Unknown

6 Responses to “The 2014-15 Numbers: A Slice of Life Story”

  1. arjeha September 2, 2014 at 8:21 am #

    Good Luck on this new adventure. I am sure it will be exciting and rewarding.

  2. Stacey Shubitz September 2, 2014 at 12:12 pm #

    I have a feeling you’re going to have a great year. Enjoy!

  3. LInda Baie (@LBaie) September 2, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

    Hope you’ll continue to remind us of the numbers, and best wishes to you for the year!

  4. Ramona September 2, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    So fun to read your life in numbers! Have a wonderful new year as you head back into the classroom. Those are 22 lucky kids!

  5. lgrainger125 September 2, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

    in this data driven world, your numbers speak volumes. I hope you have a terrific year meeting the needs of your class! Enjoy! The kids are lucky to have a teacher who already has an idea of the big picture.

  6. margaretsmn September 2, 2014 at 4:02 pm #

    These are challenging numbers, but I am sure once they are in your classroom, each child is an individual. The numbers will mean less as you get to know who they really are.

Comments are closed.