Finally!

26 Feb

My dog, Lucy, got me up for a potty break around 4 Monday morning. I am always a little bleary at these moments, shuffling to the kitchen to get her harness. I lean out the back door, holding onto the leash, eyes barely open and  whispering words of encouragement to get her to do her business quickly. This day, I was a little more alert, on the lookout for the snow that Portland forecasters had promised yet again. Seeing none, I went back to bed and got up at my usual time.

I turned in the coffee pot before I showered and dressed. Once dressed, I went to get my first of my two morning cups. Of course, a two-hour delay had been called while I showered. I look outside. There was very little snow on the ground at home, but school is 30 minutes away and at a higher elevation. I puttered at the computer, drinking my coffee, then sat down to knit a bit. When the coffee ran out, I checked the closures: still a two-hour delay, so I wouldn’t make a pot of tea, I’d make a second round of coffee while I packed my lunch, thinking about what time I should leave.

About a half hour later, Beaverton schools were closed – Portland Public Schools maintained their two-hour delay. My streets were still clear, but apparently the storm had veered West and my school district’s higher elevation mattered.

I dumped the last of the coffee and put the kettle on for tea.

screen-shot-2018-05-15-at-6-04-18-am

 

8 Responses to “Finally!”

  1. arjeha February 26, 2019 at 6:27 am #

    Congratulations! A snow day is cause to celebrate.

  2. Leigh Anne Eck February 26, 2019 at 8:20 am #

    I’m glad you finally got your snow day. I am hoping we don’t get anymore! Your post made me curious as to when you make tea vs. making coffee? Is it just a snow day treat? Might be another slice here! 😉

  3. franmcveigh February 26, 2019 at 11:42 am #

    Yikes, up to 14 days for some districts. Totally depends on location but February was the snowiest Feb. ever in history. Let’s, please, move on!

  4. Stacey Shubitz February 26, 2019 at 12:43 pm #

    Hooray… finally! I remembered your slice from a few weeks ago when you didn’t get one.

    Did you make it hot cocoa too?

  5. Lisa Corbett February 26, 2019 at 2:51 pm #

    I love these bonus days off. As you know, a snow day doesn’t mean a day off for me. But on Sunday church was cancelled due to weather (the church people are much more sensible than the school people! I’d have been driving to school for sure if it wasn’t a Sunday.) I took full advantage of the bonus day with no plans.

  6. terierrol February 26, 2019 at 3:42 pm #

    I would be happy to send you some of our avalanche of snow! Only one missed day for us, so far and we got the notice the night before – everyone could sleep in! Time for it to start to melt!

  7. Brian Rozinsky February 26, 2019 at 8:53 pm #

    The shifting of gears from coffee to tea, from going to settling in, captures the delicious feeling of a snow day.

  8. ebgriffin February 27, 2019 at 2:51 am #

    This piece really makes me feel your long, slow morning, filled with a bit of unknowing and then, the decision….a snow day, after all.

Comments are closed.