The Appointment

19 Nov

I was caught up on my grading and my students were working quietly, so I decided to check my email. I always feel a little guilty when I do this, worried that it looks as though I am not doing my job. And, like my students, checking my email can sometimes turn into a rabbit-hole of clicking and suddenly you are deep into the warren.

This day seemed no different, and most of the emails were routine, except this one:

Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 5.50.47 AM

I had filled out the YALSA volunteer form months ago and had stopped thinking about it. YALSA is the Young Adult Library Services Association, a division of the American Library Association and the run several book award committees I checked off on the volunteer form, including the Award for Excellence in Nonfiction. I tried to calm myself before opening the email. Don’t put the cart before the horse, I cautioned myself, as my heart pounded in anticipation.

Screen Shot 2019-11-19 at 5.53.00 AM

The students were still working quietly. I must have gasped or giggled because one of the students looked up, a quizzical look on her face.

“I just got some really good news,” I simply stated, smiling slightly, though inside I was jumping around and shouting. What I wanted to say was “Holy crap!” but a teacher can’t say that, not even when they are excited and nervous because they never expected to be the Chair of a book award committee.

6 Responses to “The Appointment”

  1. Lakshmi Bhat November 19, 2019 at 6:15 am #

    Congratulations 🙂

  2. arjeha November 19, 2019 at 7:26 am #

    How wonderful! Congratulations. They made a wise choice.

  3. Diane Cherry November 19, 2019 at 12:21 pm #

    Congratulations! Seems like a continuation of past activities 😊

    Sent from Diane’s iPhone

    >

  4. mrspalmerponders November 19, 2019 at 1:52 pm #

    Congratulations! I love the juxtaposition of the inner party and the outer calmness considering the setting! Great mentor for Ss who are trying to show that characters can be complicated!

  5. Betsy Hubbard November 19, 2019 at 4:11 pm #

    Woohoo! That’s incredibly exciting. Enjoy!

  6. Lisa Corbett November 23, 2019 at 4:53 pm #

    Congratulations! I hope you’ll blog about this experience all along the way. Sounds so interesting!

Comments are closed.