Worries

14 Sep

Forty-five students in two of my six ELA classes, an HVAC system that works intermittently, the myth of 3 feet of social distancing, two new grade levels to teach, and a new nine period schedule: these are not the worries that have me stressed.

What worried me most today were the messages from my car. The low tire pressure light came on yesterday afternoon. A few months ago, the low battery message came on for my key fob. After watching a YouTube video, I was able to change the battery. I usually carried one particular key fob, but after changing the battery I worried, so I started carrying both the main and my spare. But the low battery light came on again.

Before leaving home this morning, I re-watched the video and changed the battery in the spare key fob. As I neared the end of the job a car alarm went off on my street. I went out to see if it was my car, but it had stopped by the time I got there.

On my way to school, armed with a pill bottle full of quarters and wet wipes, I stopped at the nearest gas station to fill my tires. When I got to work, I puttered around in my classroom as I do when I first arrive, opening windows and getting ready for the day. My room overlooks the parking lot and through the open windows, I heard a car alarm again. Could it be mine again, I wondered.

I exited through the nearest door and, of course it had stopped by the time I got there. Another teacher had just arrived and I asked if she’d noticed which card had sounded. She thought she might have touched her door to that of the car beside her when she got out, but couldn’t say for sure which car had sounded. I wondered if I’d accidently touched a button – the one for finding your car in a parking lot – as I had put my school bag and keys in my closet. It remains a mystery.

The low tire pressure light had resolved itself on the drive to school. It will take a few days for me to know about the fob batteries. That light didn’t come on every day. Until I feel confident, I will continue carrying both fobs. And keep my fingers crossed.

7 Responses to “Worries”

  1. arjeha September 14, 2021 at 6:13 pm #

    Oh my! I don’t know that there is anything more unnerving than having warning lights flash on in your car. Luckily they were things you were able to handle. Hope the new batteries resolved the gob issue for you.

  2. Lisa Corbett September 15, 2021 at 3:12 am #

    I don’t think I’ve ever needed a new battery in a key fob! When I first read that you’d changed a battery I thought you meant the main battery under the hood. My morning comprehension isn’t very good. Haha

  3. Ms Victor Reads September 15, 2021 at 3:13 am #

    Hope it all resolves itself soon. Sometimes for me, one worry manifests itself in many ways.

  4. sallydonnelly11 September 15, 2021 at 3:29 am #

    Your story reads with the suspense of a mystery story!

  5. cmargocs September 16, 2021 at 4:01 am #

    The message I got from this post is that it’s the little things that tend to get to us…and I’m in awe of the big things you ARE handling! The pandemic effects on our classes and teaching is not to be minimized, for sure. I hope you have had a better week since posting!

    • Adrienne September 16, 2021 at 6:07 am #

      I can’ help thinking about the saying “The straw that broke the camel’s back” .

  6. Darin Johnston September 16, 2021 at 7:37 am #

    Been there, done that. Nothing like your car watching you walk into school then thinking, “Hey, what can I do today to mess with her?”. If it’s a fob battery, those are easy to get and replace!

    It will get better. It has to! 🙂

Comments are closed.