The Power Outage – A Slice of Life Story

11 Apr

I didn’t notice the high winds last Friday until I was almost at school. As I drove down the street in front of my school, the trees were waving manically and I could hear the gusts. I leaned into the wind as I walked from my car, thankful that there was no rain.

I got up to my classroom and set about getting ready for my day, knowing I had four students coming for our last practice before Saturday’s OBOB state tournament. Just after 8, the lights went out. Fortunately, my windowless room has an emergency light. It was dark, but not impossible to work.

As classes came in, I spoke in a whisper voice and the 6th graders rolled with it. It was the quietest day ever. Students seemed to enjoy the “mood lighting” as wrote their sci-fi stories and presented what they noticed about Jack London’s writing. It was all very civilized.

The power came back on around 1:30. As soon as it did, the class erupted in cheers and applause. And that was the end of civilization.

slice-of-life_individual

8 Responses to “The Power Outage – A Slice of Life Story”

  1. mbush17 April 11, 2017 at 5:15 am #

    I love working without lights on! I saw another classroom within a district not by me hanging Christmas lights across her ceiling, I did the same! My lights are rarely on now, and students love it!

    https://bushsliceoflife.wordpress.com/

  2. lisaorchard1 April 11, 2017 at 5:49 am #

    Way to go with the flow. I bet your students loved it. đŸ™‚

  3. JudyK April 11, 2017 at 6:37 am #

    The end of civilization. Haha! I love this story. ~JudyK

  4. elsie April 11, 2017 at 7:41 am #

    How lucky you had emergency lighting! Interesting to note the difference in behaviors with and without power.

    • Adrienne April 11, 2017 at 8:21 am #

      Apparently, the opposite was true in 7th grade. They were noisy on the dark and quieted down once the power went back on.

  5. arjeha April 11, 2017 at 8:10 am #

    Once when we lost power our school called the buses and sent all the students home. Seems we couldn’t function without electricity.

  6. terierrol April 11, 2017 at 3:32 pm #

    It is amazing how the tone of a room can change. I’m glad everything turned out okay.

  7. Tim Gels April 11, 2017 at 6:53 pm #

    It’s so cool that you were able to continue with class. I’m pretty sure we’d have been sent home, but I’m not sure. The whisper voice to bring them into the classroom was brilliant–I’d have messed that one up for sure. Thanks for a neat slice!

Comments are closed.