The second day is the hardest

3 Apr

The first day back
You are energized –
New month
New start
New unit
New stories about
Spring Break exploits.
There is a joy,
An excitement
In the air.

The second day is harder
You are tired
From the day before
From starting a new unit
From the kids’ renewed energy
And their old behaviors –
You didn’t miss those!
There is a fatigue,
Exhaustion,
In the air.

From the third day,
It gets better.
Established routines
Favorite units
Taught to fresh faces
Still a lot to do,
But sliding towards summer
There is an energy
A hope,
In the air.

29587379592_ffc85a733d_o

8 Responses to “The second day is the hardest”

  1. arjeha April 3, 2018 at 6:52 am #

    This brought back memories of when I was still teaching. The first day is always exciting. The second day the excitement wears off and it just becomes routine.

  2. barbara suter April 3, 2018 at 7:16 am #

    As was stated by above Slicer, this poem certainly brought back memories. Teaching is such a complex job; no one else could understand (except perhaps a doctor). I’ve been back in a school twice…and both times I left feeling exhausted!

  3. elsie April 3, 2018 at 8:37 am #

    By the third day, your spring break is just a distant memory. I remember those days. 🙂

  4. Georganna Rapaport April 3, 2018 at 9:40 am #

    Oh I can so relate! This is my second day back and I was feeling so TIRED at the gym this morning!! Tomorrow will be better. 🙂

  5. ebgriffin April 3, 2018 at 2:35 pm #

    This is a great portrait of a teacher’s life!

  6. berries781 April 3, 2018 at 3:13 pm #

    I am ALWAYS more tired the second day. It’s awful! Good luck getting through the week!

  7. terierrol April 3, 2018 at 3:46 pm #

    Great poem! I think you captured the tiredness after break exactly. But we do still need those breaks.

  8. Brian Rozinsky April 3, 2018 at 7:52 pm #

    Second day back for me today, too. Your poem gives me hope for tomorrow!

Comments are closed.