Seedlings

29 May

Several weeks ago, I planted cilantro and basil seeds in pots on my front stoop. The packages said to sow them 6″( basil) and 12″ (cilantro) apart. when I opened the packet, though, the basil seeds seemed so tiny. How could I plant single seeds 6″ apart when I found it impossible to pick up a single seed? So, I didn’t. I sowed both herbs liberally.

I waited and watered and waited some more. The basil seedlings appeared first. It was almost another week before I saw signs of life in the cilantro planter. I was pleased and relieved.

Now, some 4 or 5 weeks later, I can see that the package hadn’t exaggerated. Each pot is packed with herbal goodness.

I needed some basil over the weekend, so I thinned it a bit. And now I am thinking that, when I have thinned a little more, I might add the leftover seeds to the pots to ensure a constant supply of my two favorite herbs through the summer.

6 Responses to “Seedlings”

  1. elsie May 29, 2018 at 7:15 am #

    Love basil and cilantro! I did cilantro once but it does not continue to grow when you pick it and it goes to seed too quickly for me. I was told you have to constantly reseed to keep cilantro growing. Maybe you could take some of the basil seedlings and put them in additional pots. They certainly look healthy!

    • Adrienne May 29, 2018 at 8:20 am #

      That is good info. Thanks!

  2. Mukhamani May 29, 2018 at 7:57 am #

    So nice to see them 😊 they add so much.

  3. arjeha May 29, 2018 at 8:49 am #

    There is nothing like the taste of fresh herbs. I have never tried growing herbs in a pot but you post has me wanting to try.

  4. Lisa Corbett May 29, 2018 at 1:52 pm #

    I wonder if they will over-winter in the house?

  5. Brian Rozinsky May 29, 2018 at 5:51 pm #

    Words of wisdom for teachers — and others, I suspect: “Sow liberally.” I wish you many happy harvests to come!

Comments are closed.