Pizza for lunch

22 Jan

After two years of going to other people’s houses, I hosted book club last night.

It is a book club for librarians and a few others and we only discuss children’s and YA lit. It is large and fluid group. Each month when the reminder goes out, people chime in only if they are coming. They also state what they will bring. The person hosting orders pizza.

I am not the best hostess in the world and I worry about this flaw. As I tidied the house, I worried about parking, about how my dog – Lucy – would deal with 8-10 people in her space eating pizza, about the fact that I only have seats for eight. And I thought about the pizza.

I haven’t ordered a pizza in decades. Maybe not since university, when we dialed 967-11-11 for Pizza Pizza. I can still sing the radio jingle.

I knew I’d get one veggie and one meat, but I consulted my sister about the size to order. That determined, I placed my order online. College-age me could never have imagined this. A few people cancelled at the last minute another decided to come last minute. yes, we are that fluid.

The pizzas arrived on time.

There were enough seats.

Lucy was a very good girl.

And there is enough pizza left over for this week’s lunches.

screen shot 2019-01-22 at 5.53.47 am

Here is the list of books we discussed last night

Shorter Fiction:

Longer Fiction:

Nonfiction

Graphic Novel

 

7 Responses to “Pizza for lunch”

  1. arjeha January 22, 2019 at 6:25 am #

    Leftover pizza is always good. It was a college staple for me and the cold leftovers were always a good snack the next day.

  2. elsie January 22, 2019 at 7:36 am #

    So glad the seating, pizza, and Lucy worked out just right! What a fun group to be a part of and I bet the conversation was rich. Bonus is pizza for lunch!

  3. TammyB January 22, 2019 at 7:39 am #

    I am glad it went better than your perceived fear dictated! Thanks for all the book links too! So when are you hosting again? wink wink

  4. Stacey Shubitz January 22, 2019 at 11:42 am #

    Good food and great books. How could you go wrong?
    Thrilled that the seating worked out and that Lucy cooperated with so many people in her space.

  5. terierrol January 22, 2019 at 3:24 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect get-together- good people, good food and good books. You always share such good books. Thank you!

  6. Brian Rozinsky January 22, 2019 at 4:53 pm #

    I’m almost overwhelmed by the number of wins you account for in this single slice. Congratulations & thanks for sharing both the story & the reading ideas.

  7. Lisa Corbett January 22, 2019 at 5:23 pm #

    I want in. And I want enough pizza left for my lunch! I love that you are able to discuss so many books in one night.

Comments are closed.