#alamw19 – Day 4 – AWARDS!

29 Jan

I got up early, packed, and checked out of the hotel. I swung by  Starbucks   – where I might have seen David Levithan – then went to sand in line for the Youth Media Awards (YMA).

I don’t know that I can adequately describe the energy in the air. People were buzzing about what they hoped would win, of course. Strangers in line next to you were now your new friend. We all agreed this was better than all the movie and TV awards combined.

As a short person. I really like to sit in a row where no one sits in front of me and I got one dead center.

50780492_291183578266404_6090569964270387200_n

It also let me run into a few people I know. I was standing and chatting with an former library colleague when the ALA media approached us.

“We are doing a documentary and wondered if you two would be will to answer a few questions?”

Of course we said yes. We were asked about favorites. She said Dreamers and I said Drawn Together. They asked a few more questions and afterwards we each thought we were hopelessly inarticulate, but we didn’t care because the YMA were about to begin.

For the first time, my twin sister was watching from her home in Canada and we were able to watch together.

screen shot 2019-01-29 at 7.03.03 am

Yeah, we cry over books.

Some favorites won awards. My TBR list just got longer. Waiting in line, my new friends and I had all agreed that even if our favorites didn’t win, we knew this was an opportunity to meet new books.

But before I could meet those new book, I attended YALSA’s Morris/Nonfiction Awards reception. This is my other favorite Midwinter event. Each of the awards announces five finalists in December. The winner is announced at the YMA. All ten finalists get a few minutes to speak and their speeches always touch my heart.
Afterwards, there is a book signing. This year we all got five books. I made a beeline for John Hendrix and got him to sign my copy of The Faithful Spy.

51228093_10218868473650846_2892151408562274304_n

 

After the reception, my five signed books in tow, I collected my luggage and headed to the train station. I thought my train was at 5, but it was at 6. I sat, knitting, watching the people around me. I finished the first sock in the pair.

50799469_10218873192328810_6785579845532254208_n

Boarding time finally rolled around. I boarded the train and was glad to be on my way home.

7 Responses to “#alamw19 – Day 4 – AWARDS!”

  1. arjeha January 29, 2019 at 7:25 am #

    How exciting. New friends, new books. What could be better?

  2. TammyB January 29, 2019 at 7:40 am #

    I love it!

  3. Ramona January 29, 2019 at 8:43 am #

    Jennifer, I can’t believe you were in my city. I got a pass to see the exhibits on Saturday and we could have met up! I watched the ceremony with the students from our lunchtime book club. So fun! Like you, my TBR list just grows and grows. I call it my WTR (want to read) since TBR sounds like an assignment. Off to request The Faithful Spy now.

  4. elsie January 29, 2019 at 11:06 am #

    I can only imagine the excitement of being in the room when they announced the winners. What a treat for you and every person there!

  5. Lisa Corbett January 29, 2019 at 3:47 pm #

    Sounds like a lovely experience! So exciting. I’d rather go to a book award show than an Hollywood award show any day.

  6. terierrol January 29, 2019 at 5:38 pm #

    It sounds like such a wonderful trip, thanks for sharing your love for books.

  7. Brian Rozinsky January 29, 2019 at 7:04 pm #

    Having read the list of award-winners earlier today, I enjoyed this behind-the-scenes glimpse from your excellent vantage. Thanks for sharing this “opportunity to meet new books”!

Comments are closed.