Go ahead, make my day

2 Jul

I’ve only been on vacation for two weeks, but I have already reached the point where I have lost track of the day of the week. Turning the page on the calendar yesterday morning was a helpful anchor, but, with so much unencumbered time, it makes me worry when I actually have an appointment. Like today.

Lucy is in need of a nail trim, so last week, I scheduled an appointment for today. As soon as I got off the phone, I began to worry. Would I remember the appointment if I have lost track of the day? So I came up with a coping strategy.

Lucy doesn’t enjoy going to the vet. If she could read, I suspect she’d hide these notes. For me, knowledge is power; for her, ignorance is bliss.

 

5 Responses to “Go ahead, make my day”

  1. Brian Rozinsky July 2, 2019 at 7:17 am #

    Those pictures, that last line — priceless. Best to you & Lucy as you head out for your appointed rounds.

  2. Ramona July 2, 2019 at 8:58 am #

    Poor Lucy, there doesn’t seem to be any chance that you’ll forget. Our cat didn’t like nail trims either.

  3. beckymusician July 2, 2019 at 12:00 pm #

    I hope you and Lucy had a successful trip! I write notes, even during the school year, and stick them on the bathroom mirror. Once I forgot to pick up my friend and fellow teacher when I had promised her a ride to school. Yikes! That’s when I began writing myself notes.

  4. arjeha July 2, 2019 at 6:36 pm #

    We have a dry erase calender on our refrigerator that I wipe off and fill in the be good every month. If not for this there are many things I would miss. One day just rolls into the next.

  5. Lisa Corbett July 2, 2019 at 7:05 pm #

    I’m a “multiple sticky note” person too! I have to have all summer appointments in the morning or I’ll forget (and even then…). I always ALWAYS worry I’ll forget to go to school on the first day in September!

Comments are closed.