The Creep

7 Jan

81544124_10221687196837164_7872039832199888896_o

Lucy starts the night on her side of the bed. This is usually on the side closest to the wall because I read or knit in bed before going to sleep and like to be near the light and the side table.

At some point during the night one of us has to get up. Whether it is just me, or both if us, Lucy usually takes the spot where I’d been sleeping. If I was the one to get up, Lucy steals the warm spot I left behind. If we both get up, I like to switch to the wall side because I know the creep will happen soon.

The Creep starts in the middle of the night, when the bedroom is colder than it had been when we first went to sleep. We are both blessed with the innate ability to fall back asleep quickly. In this second round of sleep, Lucy decides she wants to get closer. My heart thinks it is love. My brain knows it is all about body heat because Lucy is a heat vampire.

She wedges herself closer to me. I adapt. More wedging. More adaptation. Until I wake up and she is in the middle of the bed and I am relegated to the mattress quarter nearest the wall. Fortunately, I know this is coming and have a secret strategy to ensure I get the majority of the bedding. It’s a win-win.

 

 

 

 

4 Responses to “The Creep”

  1. arjeha January 7, 2020 at 7:23 am #

    I have my own heat vampire and she starts as soon as I get into bed. She pushed against my back or takes up a position on my arm. Sometimes I get two and then I am totally trapped.

  2. Terje January 7, 2020 at 11:55 am #

    I enjoyed reading this slice. Even though your sleep was disrupted i could feel the love you have for Lucy.

  3. Writing to Learn, Learning to Write January 7, 2020 at 3:05 pm #

    Ah to sleep with your pup! Please share the secret strategy.

  4. Lisa Corbett January 7, 2020 at 6:19 pm #

    I enjoy snuggling, but not when I sleep! I had a terrible dream the other night. I was immensely pregnant and couldn’t move anywhere. When I woke up the cat was on my stomach annoyed at being woken up. Like you, I thought it was love but it was really her stealing my warmth.

Comments are closed.