I’ve become that person

7 Apr

Staying at home, the days have begun to blur together. Case in point: I almost missed that today was Slice of Life Tuesday.

As a result, any variation in my day is celebrated. Like a UPS delivery. Way back, I had an issue with a UPS delivery and signed up for some sort of alert. This means that, the day before a delivery, I get an email alerting me to the fact that a package will be delivered the next day. But on delivery day, the real excitement happens. I get an email with a “Follow My Delivery” option. You know I click on that and spend the next few hours following the truck as it meanders through my part of town.

It surprises me that sometimes, it comes very close to my house – only a block or two away – without delivering my package. I know UPS has a massive logistics division that has logically determined exactly when my package should be delivered on the most efficient route. I don’t mind the wait. Following my package is a fun diversion.

Screen Shot 2020-04-07 at 7.53.57 AM

5 Responses to “I’ve become that person”

  1. arjeha April 7, 2020 at 8:41 am #

    As Carly Simon sang,
    “Anticipation, anticipation
    Is makin’ me late
    Is keepin’ me waitin'”

    I have a package that is to be delivered on Saturday. It is a gift for Kathy so I hope it gets delivered without her seeing.

    • Adrienne April 7, 2020 at 8:47 am #

      She nailed it with that song.

  2. Lisa Corbett April 7, 2020 at 11:07 am #

    Chapters is doing this new thing where they send an email the second the package is delivered. I might be getting a lot of these lately. 🙂

  3. jumpofffindwings April 7, 2020 at 3:31 pm #

    You know how Robert Frost says that firewood warms us twice, the chopping and the burning? Purchasing online has a similar payoff: the buying, the tracking, and then…the delivery! Thanks for capturing this so well.

Comments are closed.