Reflecting on my OLW

23 May

My One Little Word for 2017 is

stretch

Have I stretched myself? At first glance, I think not. I feel as though I’ve just been rolling along. But with deeper reflection, I can say I have:

  • I’ve pressed myself as a teacher of writing, trying new moves
  • I’ve tried out some new organizational strategies to be sure I conference with everyone
  • I finally joined a book group
  • I am trying to keep a writer’s notebook (still a work in progress)

There are a few other smaller ways I’ve stretched myself, but these are the most significant. The is still more than half a year to go. I can keep working on these and, maybe even stretch myself in other ways I haven’t thought of yet.

My OLW hasn’t made me a new person – that wasn’t my goal. But I feel like I have stretched enough to grow.

7 Responses to “Reflecting on my OLW”

  1. Andrea Clark May 23, 2017 at 6:08 am #

    I like that you are reflecting on your word for the year. I also recently joined a book club too, and I have enjoyed the conversations I have had with the other women in the group. Conferencing is a struggle for me too. What kinds of strategies have you tried this year?

    • Adrienne May 23, 2017 at 8:09 am #

      We had a TCRWP trainer come this year. She gave us strategies for deciding what to conference/ small group about. (Sort flashdrafts and samples based on need- organization, etc) As a team we came up with a form to help sign kids up.

  2. vanessaw2007 May 23, 2017 at 6:25 am #

    Nice that you keep checking back with your OLW. It’s such a great word! I love doing this every year. It really helps me put a new focus to my year.

  3. arjeha May 23, 2017 at 10:33 am #

    Not all stretches have to be big. As you say, every stretch, no matter how small, leads to growth.

  4. terierrol May 23, 2017 at 11:49 am #

    It certainly sounds like you have made progress. Don’t stop stretching now!

  5. Brian Rozinsky May 23, 2017 at 1:34 pm #

    In praise of the small stretch! As with the physical equivalents, these stretches encourage your limberness; they’re useful in themselves, and preparing you for bigger moves when you’re ready — or when you’re not 🙂

  6. teachworkoutlove May 23, 2017 at 3:11 pm #

    Thats an awesome reflection – i think its more stretching than we really ever think!

Comments are closed.