A Little Luck

29 Aug

 See a penny pick it up.

All the day you’ll have good luck.

I don’t really believe that old superstition.

And yet, whenever I see a penny on the ground, I pick it up and recite the rhyme. It is just what I do.

I don’t really believe picking up pennies will bring me luck.

And yet, last week, while taking Lucy for a walk, I found a penny and picked it up. A littler further on, I found another penny and a dime. I picked those up, too. If a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush, what is 12¢ worth, I wondered.Did I now have 12 times the luck I’d left the house with?

IMG_0758

 

 

6 Responses to “A Little Luck”

  1. 💜 the purple lady (@th_purpl_lady) August 29, 2017 at 8:13 am #

    What a nice thought. I think it was pretty lucky. Just the slice you’ve written feels lucky. Thanks for the food for thought.

  2. Linsey Taylor August 29, 2017 at 8:50 am #

    I can’t help but pick up loose change too! 🙂

  3. arjeha August 29, 2017 at 2:44 pm #

    I also pick up a penny when I see it. I also keep the picked up change in a special jar and don’t spend it. Is that accumulated good luck?

  4. Christine August 29, 2017 at 3:39 pm #

    Pennies from heaven perhaps? I almost always pick them up – thinking they are a sign from above that someone id watching over me. You must have some big angels up there finding 12 cents!

  5. theapplesinmyorchard August 29, 2017 at 4:28 pm #

    Sweet, optimistic post. I will never tlook at a stray penny or dime the same again!

  6. Brian Rozinsky August 30, 2017 at 4:50 am #

    I like the rhetorical musing at the end of your slice, Adrienne. This moment reminds me of a teacher I knew who took a similar approach to loose change, with one wrinkle. He’d only claim the coin if it were face up. In his estimation, those were the lucky coins while face-down ones brought worse juju.

Comments are closed.