Dryer repair by the numbers

16 Jan

 

The email said the dryer technician would call Monday between 8 and 10 am. I read, I knit, I waited. He called at 10:14.

In his call, the technician said he’d arrive between 2 and 5 pm. I read some more. I knit some more. I waited some more. He arrived at 4:55.

Of course, my dryer wasn’t demonstrating the problem I called about. However, as the technician turned the knob and pushed the buttons, it did a few other things I’d never seen before. It began to work when he pushed the CANCEL button.

Fortunately, it was all part of the same component, the User Board, which he replaced by 5:45. We sat down and did the paperwork. I knew ahead of time what it would cost.

$99 just to show up                                                                                                                             122 flat labor rate                                                                                                                             361 for the part                                                                                                                                    $571 for peace of mind

Yeah, I had to wait… a lot. But there is one less dryer in the landfill. And yeah, I had to spend a lot of money. But right now, I am feeling really happy that this is what I see.

IMG_0006.jpg

 

 

6 Responses to “Dryer repair by the numbers”

  1. elsie January 16, 2018 at 6:36 am #

    Appliance repairs are such a pain! I hope this dryer will continue to work with no issues for many more years.

  2. arjeha January 16, 2018 at 9:21 am #

    I am glad you wrote an update because I was wondering how things turned out for you. Now that your dryer has a new lease on life may it continue to perform its duties for many years to come.

  3. sallydonnelly11 January 16, 2018 at 10:06 am #

    I like how you structured your piece into parts that included the time and the mindlessness as you waited. And then included all the numbers that added up to what you had to pay! I wasn’t expecting “one less dryer in the landfill” but you are so, so right! Often it seems that the cost of repairs cause us to just buy a new one. But you remind me why it is important to repair!

  4. pamlingelbach January 16, 2018 at 5:20 pm #

    I guess it’s just that season. Our dryer bit the dust last fall, needing repairs that were more costly than a new one, and it’s aged partner the washer died a death of grief during Christmas break. Same situation. I am glad you were able to preserve yours! I miss the simplicity of the ones I had, but I am thankful for the improved drying time with the new one.

    • Adrienne January 16, 2018 at 5:55 pm #

      Sometimes it is a fine line between cost effectiveness and ecological responsibility.

  5. Brian Rozinsky January 16, 2018 at 8:14 pm #

    While the outcome sounds priceless, the steps to get there did indeed extract a toll. Best wishes for a long stretch of trouble-free service!

Comments are closed.