Of course I said yes

18 Mar

When the email came asking me to present at the Spring mini conference for local school librarians, of course I said yes. I’d once been the person coordinating that conference and knew how hard it could be to find someone to present on a Saturday.

When I saw the schedule I balked.

Screen Shot 2018-03-17 at 3.24.21 PM

Who would want to see my presentation when they can see a Newbery honor author? I wondered. I was half hoping and half fearing everyone would want to see her.

Regardless, I spent the week getting my presentation together. I put a link to our Sibert phone calls into my Powerpoint and then wondered about embedding the video right in the presentation. I was surprised to see there was no “download this video” button on YouTube. A quick Google search informed me I didn’t need to download an app, there was an easy way to do so. I was glad because I wanted the clip, just in case I ran out of things to say. By Friday night, I felt ready for whatever Saturday was going to throw at me.

I could have just arrived in time for my presentation, but, presenters attend the mini conference for free. As a morning person, it just made sense to show up early. I drank coffee and reconnected with some former colleagues. I attend a Makey Makey workshop for the first session to keep my nerves at bay. In the break between sessions, I set up my computer and books in the lab.

And then Saturday threw all it had at me.

“Adrienne, our author is running late. Is it OK if we start the second session later than planned?” one of the conference organizers asked me.

Of course I said yes.

And when she came to me again to explain that a communications snafu  had sent Ingrid Law to the wrong school, I was asked to present to the whole group. Of course I said yes.

Like most teachers, I am totally comfortable in front of a room full of kids. Not so for adults. I moved everything into the library and presented to the large group. I was a little nervous starting out, but was okay by the end, I think. I was maybe a little sweaty. I managed to fill the hour, and it was a good thing because although the video ran fine, the speakers didn’t work. In case you’d like to see the video, here it is.

 

9 Responses to “Of course I said yes”

  1. tbreitweiser March 18, 2018 at 7:16 am #

    Congratulations! You are awesome

  2. arjeha March 18, 2018 at 7:41 am #

    Of course you said “yes”. Why is it that we are comfortable speaking in front of a room full of students but yet our legs turn to jelly when it is a room full of adults?

  3. LDietrichPF March 18, 2018 at 12:20 pm #

    What a great opportunity! I’m sure you rocked it.

  4. franmccrackin March 18, 2018 at 12:47 pm #

    As we say in my school, flexibility is our watchword.
    Congrats!

  5. Connie Lindsey March 18, 2018 at 1:23 pm #

    Next time remember that teachers would much prefer to hear a presentation that is relevant to them and will give them a couple of good ideas to try! Thank goodness for teacher like you who do say yes!

  6. elsie March 18, 2018 at 1:44 pm #

    I think you would have had lots of teachers anyway. I would like to be in on the selection committee and know about what goes on. I noticed a lot more classes were doing a mock Siebert this year. Well done Adrienne!

  7. Fran Haley March 18, 2018 at 1:45 pm #

    Just wow. Reminds me of the time I went to hear Lucy Calkins present on reading workshop and the tech wouldn’t work. She did the presentation FROM MEMORY. You’re a trooper, Adrienne, and a top-notch professional.

  8. sallydonnelly11 March 18, 2018 at 3:47 pm #

    Those in the audience were LUCKY to learn from you, just as my students were when we connected. I loved reading your process as a presenter. And both the excitement to share but that fear that no one will come. Glad you added the video link. I enjoyed watching it again. SO fun that you were on the choosing committee!

  9. shaggerspicchu March 18, 2018 at 8:09 pm #

    Congratulations on such an amazing opportunity. I bet all of the members of the audience were so happy that they were able to be apart of your presentation!

Comments are closed.